General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:10 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 281 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 19  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 1:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:35 pm
Posts: 34
Peter - is there any way I can boot this in a 'recovery mode' to view the disk setup?

TIA - Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 7:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:35 pm
Posts: 34
Peter - i have fixed it :D

I removed the 2TB drive that came already installed in the NAS and put into an external caddy, connected to my XP box and found that the drive had a 'GPT Protective Partition' - Hmmmm!
Followed the Microsoft guide on how to remove it, then initialized the disk in computer management.
Back into the NAS - reinstalled using your original 3.2 kernel setting the partitions as you suggested and when tested it booted on sda1.
It's not perfect - but it's a huge step forwards from where I was!
You may wish to add this to your installation notes, that if the Debian installation partitioning script doesn't ask the user whether a partition should be primary or logical, then the drive probably has a GPT Protective Partition and it will appear to install fine but at reboot it will not be able to access /dev/sda-anything!

BTW - thanks for everyone's help with this issue.

One final thing - I selected 'file-server' as the installation profile for it to install Samba etc.
I get this booting from your original 3.2 (will try your new kernel later) -

r8169 0000:00:01.0: eth1: link up
exim4.
sshd (1334): /proc/1334/oom_adj is deprecated, please use /proc/1334/oom_score_a
dj instead.
Starting OpenBSD Secure Shell server: sshd.
Starting the Winbind daemon: winbind.
USB power enabled

INIT: Id "4" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "6" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "3" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "5" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "2" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: no more processes left in this runlevel

INIT: Id "6" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "3" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "5" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "4" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "2" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes


Last edited by scoobie on Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:38 am
Posts: 37
Location: Enschede, the Netherlands
Edit /etc/inittab and comment out like this:

Code:
# /sbin/getty invocations for the runlevels.
#
# The "id" field MUST be the same as the last
# characters of the device (after "tty").
#
# Format:
#  <id>:<runlevels>:<action>:<process>
#
# Note that on most Debian systems tty7 is used by the X Window System,
# so if you want to add more getty's go ahead but skip tty7 if you run X.
#
#1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
#2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
#3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
#4:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
#5:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
#6:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:35 pm
Posts: 34
Slightly different warnings and errors with the new kernel, but still the INIT respawning thing..

Starting NFS common utilities: statd.
Starting enhanced syslogd: rsyslogd.
FATAL: Could not load /lib/modules/3.2.0/modules.dep: No such file or directory
Not starting NFS kernel daemon: no support in current kernel. ... (warning).
Starting deferred execution scheduler: atd.
r8169 0000:00:01.0: eth1: unable to load firmware patch rtl_nic/rtl8168d-2.fw (-
2)
r8169 0000:00:01.0: eth1: link down
r8169 0000:00:01.0: eth1: link down
Starting periodic command scheduler: cron.
Starting system message bus: dbus.
Starting Samba daemons: nmbd smbd.
Starting MTA:Starting internet superserver: inetd.
r8169 0000:00:01.0: eth1: link up
sshd (1304): /proc/1304/oom_adj is deprecated, please use /proc/1304/oom_score_a
dj instead.
Starting OpenBSD Secure Shell server: sshd.
exim4.
ALERT: exim paniclog /var/log/exim4/paniclog has non-zero size, mail system poss
ibly broken ... failed!
Starting the Winbind daemon: winbind.
USB power enabled
INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "2" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "3" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "4" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "5" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "6" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: no more processes left in this runlevel


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6173
You should have a look in /etc/inittab. I think you are starting pseudoterminals.
Code:
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
which fails on a headless server.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:35 pm
Posts: 34
Peter,

Just compiled NZBGET - woohoo - it's just brilliant ;)
I am also using your latest kernel.

Just need to set up file-sharing so I can get it configured as a media server.

I can't thank you enough - thanks for all your hard work building this kernel.

Mark (Scoobie)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 8:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:35 pm
Posts: 34
Peter,

As many NSA-310 users will be working with the supplied 2TB drive (and may encounter the same issues as me), I wonder whether you could enable GPT support in your kernel.
I found the following information on the web -

Linux GPT Kernel Support -
EFI GUID Partition support works on both 32bit and 64bit platforms. You must include GPT support in kernel in order to use GPT. If you don't include GPT support in Linux kernelt, after rebooting the server, the file system will no longer be mountable or the GPT table will get corrupted. By default Redhat Enterprise Linux / CentOS comes with GPT kernel support. However, if you are using Debian or Ubuntu Linux, you need to recompile the kernel. Set CONFIG_EFI_PARTITION to y to compile this feature.


Regards

Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:38 am
Posts: 37
Location: Enschede, the Netherlands
I've recompiled the kernel with EFI-GUID support. Download 3.2 from topic start ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:07 pm
Posts: 5
Hey guys, reading this thread with some interest as I'm looking at moving over to the NSA-310 as it's quite a bit more efficient than my D-Link DNS-320.

But I'm a little confused by the cable required for U-Boot, I've found the |_||| pin header on the PCB of the device and have done a little research into bus pirates. I'm just wondering if anybody has any pictures or instructions on these or possibly a home-brew workaround if the item is vital for the Debian squeeze install?

Sorry if this should be a topic of it's own I just thought it best to keep it tidy. I'm just hoping to get my Debian on with one of these units. :geek:

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:35 pm
Posts: 34
LOL - I originally bought the DNS-320, then saw how much it was for a 2TB HDD to put inside. Fortunately Amazon took it back and I got my 310 for around the same price as the drive.
I have squeeze loaded now (all thanks to Peter) and I just love this device to bits - it's just amazing.
For a console cable I purchased a Nokia cable off eb*y for 2.99, threaded it through the lock adapter holes at the back and use Hyperterm with VT100 emulation. Dead simple to wire up and works a treat.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/310155366796? ... 1439.l2649


Last edited by scoobie on Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 1:07 pm
Posts: 5
scoobie wrote:
I purchased a Nokia cable off eb*y for 2.99, threaded it through the lock adapter holes at the back and use Hyperterm with VT100 emulation. Works a treat.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/310155366796? ... 1439.l2649



I know this sounds like a huge ball-ache but could you post a picture of how you've got this setup and attatched to the board? pin-out / wires etc?

Awesome price for the cable so if you can drop me a picture or even better a homebrew guide that'd be much appreciated.

Thanks again.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:35 pm
Posts: 34
Unfortunately the colour codes of the wiring is not standard so a photo of mine may result in you toasting your NAS.
However, it's very easy to unclip the Nokia plug part and there's plenty of guides and diagrams showing which is TX RX 3.3v and Ground.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:38 am
Posts: 37
Location: Enschede, the Netherlands
I've also used a bus pirate for initial uboot setup. This is the pinout of the header: |GND|NC|RX|TX|VCC|

Connect as such:
GND - GND
RX - MOSI
TX - MISO

In the buspirate interface do select Uart -> 115200 with 8 bits and no stopbit. You can use open drain and ground for outputs in uart select. Then use macro (1) for transparent uart bridge. Should work now.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:35 pm
Posts: 34
Panicacid - The ebay listing appears to be still available - the seller is in Ireland and he says he has 1000's available!

I just found my diagram -

BLACK
XXXXXXX
WHITE
BLUE
YELLOW

The XXXXX is the missing pin on the header
the RED wire in the DKU-5 isn't used.

I used an old motherboard connector rather than soldering directly to the board - the type that goes to the reset, power etc.
but I had to chop it down to prevent it fouling the case and also insulated the inside of the case just to make sure nothing shorted.
I originally had the unit in bits on the carpet but it was taking days to sort out the disk format problem and the wife was getting cheesed off with the mess (why can't women understand!), so I stripped down my original lash-up, threaded the DKU-5 wire through the back, used heat-shrink to insulate the unwanted red wire and put a small cable tie to stop the cable being pulled out of the back.
Works well and I just coil it up now as it's not needed.

Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:35 pm
Posts: 34
Peter - where can I get a copy of RAR or UNRAR?
All I can see is unrar-free which doesn't work on many new RAR files
Thanks

Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 281 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 19  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: billbillw and 78 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group