JBOD to RAID1 Migration Issue

Marvell Kirkwood based
heisenberg
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: JBOD to RAID1 Migration Issue

Post by heisenberg » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:13 pm

Did it work for you that way? Or how did you manage it?

paulheu
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 11:43 am

Re: JBOD to RAID1 Migration Issue

Post by paulheu » Thu Nov 20, 2014 7:30 pm

Worked fine here, re-did the NAS and first set up 1 disk JBOD. Then popped in the second and migrated to RAID-1.. no problem and without a hitch.

heisenberg
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: JBOD to RAID1 Migration Issue

Post by heisenberg » Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:55 pm

Thanks for your answer!

I heard about problems with migration function, when using bigger harddrives. What is the size of your HDDs?

UPDATE: I also had no problems to migrate 3TB discs.

beatmaster
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 7:45 am

Re: JBOD to RAID1 Migration Issue

Post by beatmaster » Thu May 07, 2015 4:36 pm

Be aware of Migrate button in NSA325 (migrate JBOD to RAID1).
I was having 3TB JBOD drive, put in 4TB drive and wanted to make simple RAID1 (4TB for future growth). Migration process 'ended' with disk status DOWN and no data accessible.

Was no luck playing with mdadm in console after reboot, even attaching to Linux virtual machine. There was GPT disklabel but no partition.
Thanks of existence of the tool named testdisk.
Analyzed disk, found ext4 partition and rewrited partition table (it found Linux raid partition too, but was non recoverable). After that did fsck with alternative superblock (original was damaged) and fixed all errors. Partition now is mountable in Linux (even its having degraded md status) and now will buy another 4TB drive and make RAID1 first, after that will copy all data to the array.

That was my experience with almost all data loss, luckily got all data back seems.

Azeures
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 4:52 pm

Re: JBOD to RAID1 Migration Issue

Post by Azeures » Fri Jan 27, 2017 5:06 pm

Hi all. Just recently I purchased 2*4TB WD RED discs. My NSA-325v2 is currently running an JBOD of 1.5TB and a 2TB discs. The system is on the 1.5TB disc but there is a lot of information on the 2TB drive. I want to create an RAID1 on the 4TB drives and copy the info from the 1,5TB and the 2TB drives. What are the steps I should take to do this?

My initial plan was the following:
1. Take out the 2TB drive.
2. Add 1 of the 4TB drives.
3. Mirror the 1,5 to the 4TB.
4. Pull out the 1,5TB and add the 2TB drive.
5. Copy the info from the 2TB drive to the 4TB drive.
6. Pull out the 2TB and put in the 2nd 4TB drive.
7. Mirror the info from the 1st drive.

Is this plan viable?

Thank you.

Post Reply