General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:14 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:55 pm
Posts: 20
Kuki wrote:
@nasingtom:
Have you done the adjustments desrcibed in post #1 under "=== Configuration ==="?! This was my problem after a reinstall because I forgot it, due to the missing numeration as a necessary installation step.


Hi @Kuki. Thanks for the pointer - that fixed it :) I already had my client configured (I have a virtual machine just for that and I hadn't changed it, so thought it was OK). But the issue was the "/ffp/crashplan/conf/my.service.xml" file needed amending again. Thanks very much for the help :D

Once I did that and connected from my client VM, I was able to connect and adopt the NAS account within crashplan; and everything is working great (woohoo)

All I need to do now is carry out the same process on my other NAS (I backup to 2 NAS boxes) to make that one work as well.

Really keeping my fingers crossed that someone works out how to disable the automatic update process before the next update is available.

Thanks to everyone for their help in resolving this, and for your continued support of this great product - You are all stars.... 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:38 am
Posts: 35
nasingtom wrote:
Kuki wrote:
...
Really keeping my fingers crossed that someone works out how to disable the automatic update process before the next update is available.
...


And this is the problem here. Even after a fresh 3.6.3 installation an update is done and distroys the installation here. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:07 am
Posts: 68
Kuki wrote:
Kuki wrote:
...
Really keeping my fingers crossed that someone works out how to disable the automatic update process before the next update is available.
...


And this is the problem here. Even after a fresh 3.6.3 installation an update is done and distroys the installation here. :(

Really that's not good. I have a Crashplan subscription so backup direct to the cloud and don't have any problems. Crashplan did email me two weeks before the upgrade to warn me that they would be doing automatic updates eg https://helpdesk.code42.com/entries/40108837-New-Release-CrashPlan-for-Home-and-CrashPlan-PRO-version-3-6-3. Please can you post the last section of your engine_output.log or engine_error.log?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:38 am
Posts: 35
@normsland:
sure:

engine_output.log:
Code:
[02.25.14 20:05:04.584 INFO    main                 root                                    ] Locale changed to English
[02.25.14 20:05:04.591 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[02.25.14 20:05:04.592 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[02.25.14 20:05:04.592 INFO    main                 root                                    ] STARTED CrashPlanService
[02.25.14 20:05:04.600 INFO    main                 root                                    ] CPVERSION = 3.6.3 - 1388556000363 (2014-01-01T06:00:00:363+0000)
[02.25.14 20:05:04.601 INFO    main                 root                                    ] LOCALE = English
[02.25.14 20:05:04.615 INFO    main                 root                                    ] ARGS = [  ]
[02.25.14 20:05:04.615 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[02.25.14 20:05:05.351 INFO    main                 root                                    ] Adding shutdown hook.
[02.25.14 20:05:05.408 INFO    main                 root                                    ] BEGIN Loading Configuration
[02.25.14 20:05:05.742 INFO    main                 root                                    ] BEGIN Copy Custom
[02.25.14 20:05:05.743 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Directories: [.Custom, custom, /e-data/fa5af6ff-834a-4c43-93f1-2e6e820a8f23/ffproot/ffp/crashplan/conf/.Custom, /e-data/fa5af6ff-834a-4c43-93f1-2e6e820a8f23/ffproot/ffp/crashplan/conf/custom]
[02.25.14 20:05:05.744 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   NOT waiting for custom skin to appear
[02.25.14 20:05:05.752 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   NO customizations found.
[02.25.14 20:05:05.752 INFO    main                 root                                    ] END Copy Custom
[02.25.14 20:05:05.795 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Loading from default: /e-data/fa5af6ff-834a-4c43-93f1-2e6e820a8f23/ffproot/ffp/crashplan/conf/default.service.xml
[02.25.14 20:05:06.552 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Loading from my xml file=conf/my.service.xml
[02.25.14 20:05:06.969 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Loading ServiceConfig, newInstall=false, version=4, configDateMs=null, installVersion=1388556000363
[02.25.14 20:05:07.516 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   OS = Linux
[02.25.14 20:05:14.925 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   AuthorityLocation@6568692[ location=central.crashplan.com:443, hideAddress=false ]
[02.25.14 20:05:14.932 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Checking Java memory heap max.
[02.25.14 20:05:14.947 INFO    main                 root                                    ]     Previous Java memory max heap size was 1024
[02.25.14 20:05:14.961 INFO    main                 root                                    ] END Loading Configuration
jtux Loaded.
[02.26.14 19:21:49.346 INFO    MQ-Peer-3            root                                    ] DownloadManager stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:03.522 INFO    W24275411_DwldMgr    root                                    ] DownloadManager stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.263 INFO    W24275411_DwldMgr    root                                    ] *****  STOPPING  *****
[02.26.14 19:22:07.292 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Stopping service...
[02.26.14 19:22:07.544 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Selector shutting down...
[02.26.14 19:22:07.544 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Selector shutting down...
[02.26.14 19:22:07.545 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Selector shutting down...
[02.26.14 19:22:07.545 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Selector shutting down...
[02.26.14 19:22:07.546 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] [Factory 11706415]stop() Stopping
[02.26.14 19:22:07.546 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] UISession stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.547 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] PG::DefaultGroup Stopping RemotePeerList.  Stopping workers and removing all peers. #peers=6, location=[622379690773970945@0.0.0.0:4242]
[02.26.14 19:22:07.549 INFO    Sel-UI-A             root                                    ] SelectorEngine stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.549 INFO    Sel-UI-C             root                                    ] SelectorEngine stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.550 INFO    Sel-UI-R             root                                    ] SelectorEngine stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.550 INFO    Sel-UI-W             root                                    ] SelectorEngine stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.753 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] PeerConnector closed.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.762 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Selector shutting down...
[02.26.14 19:22:07.762 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Selector shutting down...
[02.26.14 19:22:07.762 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Selector shutting down...
[02.26.14 19:22:07.763 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Selector shutting down...
[02.26.14 19:22:07.763 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] [Factory 19116734]stop() Stopping
[02.26.14 19:22:07.767 INFO    Sel-Peer-A           root                                    ] SelectorEngine stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.767 INFO    Sel-Peer-C           root                                    ] SelectorEngine stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.768 INFO    Sel-Peer-W           root                                    ] SelectorEngine stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.768 INFO    Sel-Peer-R           root                                    ] SelectorEngine stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.768 INFO    W12203512_PeerTimeou root                                    ] PeerConnector.TimeoutWorker stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:07.873 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] PeerController stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:10.237 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Backup torn down.
[02.26.14 19:22:10.238 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] DownloadManager stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:10.239 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] SystemWatcher stopped.
[02.26.14 19:22:10.240 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Service stopped


engine_error.log is empty (0 bytes).

But please check my other logs in my former post from 02-26-2014 too: viewtopic.php?p=80577#p80577
Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:07 am
Posts: 68
@Kuki. Looks like it died with the update. Did you run the upgrade.sh more than once? If so it would have deleted some important files. Therefore you'll need to reinstall with 3.6.3. If not you might be able to edit the upgrade.sh to change the mv command to be /ffp/bin/mv then run it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:38 am
Posts: 35
@normsland:
yes, I tried to update again manually. And yes, I also tried an edited upgrade.sh (with adjusted paths due to ffp) but it didn't help as important files have been already deleted.

I will try a fresh install again, when I'll have more time but as there is no solution for the update problem here in this thread, I think my reinstallation makes no sense at the moment.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 6:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:38 am
Posts: 35
OK, I reinstalled 3.6.3 again yesterday and since yesterday there was no update of the software.
So it seems to be OK now.

normsland wrote:
Kuki wrote:
I noticed that during the start one of the JavaOptions (the max. Heap-Value Xmx) is now set to 1GB instead to 512MB like in the older Crashplan version.
But setting it back to 512MB (in the file bin/run.conf) doesn't matter.

I've added a new step 16 to the OP to cover this. Basically you can get away with a lot smaller Java maximum heap size than this. I've been using 192m for 9months+ without any problems. You'll need stop your crashplan service. Then edit the bin/run.conf plus conf/my.service.xml as well. Then restart your crashplan service. Only if you find that crashplan is randomly stopping do you need to increase this. Please see the OP for more info. Thanks


@normsland:
The second part of step 16 (edit my.service.xml) is not possible during a fresh installation as this file is generated later. So you can write it to the same steps like editing this file because of the 127.0.0.1. I think you should write these steps from (=== Configuration ===) as a normal installation step (numbered) as not only I forgot to do this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:02 am
Posts: 6
Hi,

I'm trying to get CrashPlan installed on my new NSA325v2.

I started by adding the web_prefix file to get access to MetaRepository for ffp.

From there I installed first MetaREpository (of course).
Then I installed RandomTools (since I saw nano being metioned there and remembering that it had to be in place for the Crashplan installation)
After that I added the ffp package.
I then statred following the steps in this guideline.

when I run "slacker -Ui cpio" I get a text-based installation screen with OK and Cancelled, and even before I select enything I get the message "Installed: -" on the last line of the screen.
AFter that it says:
"Searching for *.new files /ffp/etc /ffp/start
Done."

I then followed the further steps, but when I try to start the actuall CrashPlan I first get a welcome message, but fter pressing enter I get a message of "cpio not found".

I've tried uninstalling and the installing cpio again as well, but that didn't help either...

Anyone have a tip to get me further?

Thanks
Øystein


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 6:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:02 am
Posts: 6
Oystein wrote:
...
From there I installed first MetaRepository (of course).
Then I installed RandomTools (since I saw nano being metioned there and remembering that it had to be in place for the Crashplan installation)
After that I added the ffp package.
I then statred following the steps in this guideline.


I've now tried running the initalization process (of the NAS) again, to start from scratch.
After that I added the MetaReposity, and now I installed ffp only.

When I now try to run "slacker -Ui cpio" I get the same problem, that cpio isn't installed afterwards.
Also, when I run "slacker -I" cpio isn't listed among the installed packages.
I also tried running bash first, as that seemed to be the solution to issues with slacker that I found in another tread.

Seems like there's something wrong with how I'm using slacker.

Best Regards,
Øystein


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 9:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:24 pm
Posts: 2314
slacker options pattern...
Options:
-U Update package lists
-C Clear cache

Install, reinstall or upgrade:
-a List all available packages
-I List available packages that are installed and up-to-date
-i List available packages that are not installed
-u List available packages that differ from the installed version

Remove packages:
-r Remove installed packages
-o List installed packages not present at sites

-A Pre-select all packages in the dialog
-F Do not apply ignore list
-c Print report to stdout, no menu

If slacker -Ui cpio doesn't gives you result, that means you already have cpio installed.
Use slacker -Ua cpio instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:02 am
Posts: 6
Thanks for the tips.

My error was pretty embarrasing:
I hadn't understood that I needed to press "space" to actually select cpio for installation after typing "slacker -Ui cpio".
I had seen that there seemed to be a "checkbox" in front of cpio but hadn't been able to move there with neither the arrow keys nor TAB, so I thought it was enough to just select OK.

It was first when I played around with some of the other options for slacker that I found out that I could do an additional select.

So your post got me thinking a bot more, and luckily I found my error.

Thanks,
Øystein :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 8:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:02 am
Posts: 6
Kuki wrote:
@normsland:
The second part of step 16 (edit my.service.xml) is not possible during a fresh installation as this file is generated later. So you can write it to the same steps like editing this file because of the 127.0.0.1. I think you should write these steps from (=== Configuration ===) as a normal installation step (numbered) as not only I forgot to do this.


Just a comment:
When I installed now, as a fresh install, the second part of step 16 isn't required.
It's as Kuki writes, that this file doesn't exist in a fresh install, but when it was created when I rebooted the NAS after step 17, it was created with the correct value (192m).

Øystein


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 2:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:07 am
Posts: 68
Oystein wrote:
Just a comment:
When I installed now, as a fresh install, the second part of step 16 isn't required.
It's as Kuki writes, that this file doesn't exist in a fresh install, but when it was created when I rebooted the NAS after step 17, it was created with the correct value (192m).

Øystein

Thanks Øystein and Kuki. I've updated step 16. Something less to do. Makes it a bit simplier if Crashplan adds things automatically :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:07 am
Posts: 68
Crashplan upgraded itself again over the weekend which broke the whole thing. To fix it within the /ffp/crashplan directory you will find an upgrade directory. Within there you need to ls and look for a numeric directory, here's mine below:
Code:
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root    4096 Oct 20 13:12 1388642400364.1413616221975
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 6634785 Oct 17 17:23 1388642400364.jar

Within the numeric directory you need to update the upgrade.sh to work with ffp.
Code:
sed -i "s/\/bin\/sh/\/ffp\/bin\/sh/" upgrade.sh
sed -i "s/mv -fv/\/ffp\/bin\/mv -fv/" upgrade.sh

Next we need to make the upgrade.sh executable
Code:
chmod +x upgrade.sh

Then run the script
Code:
./upgrade.sh
Check the upgrade.log for any errors. You can safely disregard any comments about Busybox/ps. The script should upgrade crashplan correctly and crashplan should restart.

Thanks!


Last edited by normsland on Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:32 pm
Posts: 23
Thanks normsland! Upgrade worked like a charm following your directions.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 63 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group