General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:14 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 1:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:32 pm
Posts: 23
Well it seems my full reinstall that was running well enough decided to fall victim to the update.sh issue. I found this information related to QNAP which basically deals with the same issue. http://pcloadletter.co.uk/2012/01/30/crashplan-syno-package/comment-page-2/ The package start-stop script has code used to detect and correct any updates pushed by Code42 so most likely we'll need to look at this and either pull out individual lines to run as needed or modify his script to the ffp structure. Both of which I'm a bit too tired to even begin looking at. My beer is pulling my attention and rightfully so after a full day of work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:20 pm
Posts: 2
@Kuki:

I think you can ignore the ps command error, the script is trying to restart the crashplan engine 10 times since it is not identifying correctly the service is already running first time.

Also please note there is no need to modify anything in the update.sh script other than first line and you can run it only once. If you try to run it second time, it will not work since the file com.backup42.desktop.jar will be first removed and then the new file is not available anymore in update.sh directory. If you tried to run it second time, then you have to do it again, i.e. do the uninstall, reinstall, run crashplan once, wait for update and then run update.sh.

Your upgrade.log is similar with mine so it should work if you are doing no mistakes in this process. For me it is still working after one day.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:33 am 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:24 pm
Posts: 2361
Kuki wrote:
Wed Feb 26 21:02:25 CET 2014 : Stopping using /ffp/start/crashplan...
Stopping CrashPlan Engine ... /ffp/crashplan/bin/CrashPlanEngine: line 148: kill: (4103) - No such process
OK
Wed Feb 26 21:02:35 CET 2014 : Sleeping 10 seconds...
======================================================

You should check first, if the stop command really stops crashplan itself.
IMHO, _findpid function in CrashPlanEngine script is not working, thus crashplan doesn't stops.
Try to change row in CrashPlanEngine and upgrade.sh (upgrade2.sh?) files exactly to:
Code:
/ffp/bin/ps -eo 'pid,cmd'| grep 'CrashPlanService' | grep -v grep | awk '{ print $1 }'


Last edited by barmalej2 on Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:25 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:38 am
Posts: 35
@yrannadx
I thought it too that I can ignore the ps errors but after Crashplan tried to install the upgrade it doesn't start anymore.
Trying the upgrade manually (with the change of the bash/shell location in the first line of the upgrade script) also doesn't make Crashplan runnable.

I thing during the first unsuccessfull upgrade try too many files are deleted. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:22 am 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:24 pm
Posts: 2361
Quote:
what I can read in the upgrade.log:

Code:
======================================================
Wed Feb 26 20:22:07 CET 2014 : /e-data/fa5af6ff-834a-4c43-93f1-2e6e820a8f23/ffproot/ffp/crashplan/upgrade/1388556100363.1393442524547/upgrade2.sh
Wed Feb 26 20:22:07 CET 2014 : Current CrashPlan Backup Engine:
Wed Feb 26 20:22:07 CET 2014 : Removing old jar files...
Wed Feb 26 20:22:07 CET 2014 : Moving existing native libs from lib to app dir...
mv: invalid option -- 'v'
BusyBox v1.17.2 (2013-12-19 13:49:44 CST) multi-call binary.



Replace /bin/mv to /ffp/bin/mv in upgrade2.sh? (upgrade.sh?) additionally


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2014 8:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:07 am
Posts: 69
Kuki wrote:
@yrannadx
I thought it too that I can ignore the ps errors but after Crashplan tried to install the upgrade it doesn't start anymore.
Trying the upgrade manually (with the change of the bash/shell location in the first line of the upgrade script) also doesn't make Crashplan runnable.

I thing during the first unsuccessfull upgrade try too many files are deleted. :(

Hi Kuki

You are correct. Unfortunately as the upgrade.sh deletes some pretty important files before moving new one's across. You can only run the upgrade.sh once. Probably the best thing to do in your case is to copy across/rename your old install to /ffp/crashplan-bak. Then start the install again from scratch. Once you have run the crashplan installer. Step 10, you can move your old jre to the new install directory. After step 17 you need to move over your old configuration cache, manifest directories to the new install. Move over ffp/crashplan-bak/conf/default.service.xml to the new install. Move your ffp/crashplan-bak/.identity file over as well. Then reboot. Then continue with the rest of the howto. You may need to re-enter your login details after first start but everything should be fine after that.

Thanks Norm :)


Last edited by normsland on Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 11:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:07 am
Posts: 69
Kuki wrote:
I noticed that during the start one of the JavaOptions (the max. Heap-Value Xmx) is now set to 1GB instead to 512MB like in the older Crashplan version.
But setting it back to 512MB (in the file bin/run.conf) doesn't matter.

I've added a new step 16 to the OP to cover this. Basically you can get away with a lot smaller Java maximum heap size than this. I've been using 192m for 9months+ without any problems. You'll need stop your crashplan service. Then edit the bin/run.conf plus conf/my.service.xml as well. Then restart your crashplan service. Only if you find that crashplan is randomly stopping do you need to increase this. Please see the OP for more info. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 1:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:32 pm
Posts: 23
Thanks for the heap info Norm! As I've been mulling over the recent upgrade issue I was seeing the heap size default of 1GB and knew it was way too high for my Zyxel w/ 512MB. Great timing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 4:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:55 pm
Posts: 20
Hi
Sorry but I might have missed something.

I'm experiencing the same issue where CrashPlan has stopped working on my 2 NSA 310's. I too get the error about a java file being missing.

I've read the thread and can't seem to see an obvious fix for this problem. Is there a fix for this or do I need to start looking elsewhere for another backup solution?

Many thanks in advance for your help


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 5:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:38 am
Posts: 35
I have had no time for repeating a new installation again but at the moment I also don't see any additional point in the discussion or in the installation guide (first post) which would help from preventing this destructive self update of Crashplan.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:55 pm
Posts: 20
Thanks for the reply @kuki.
So is there any way to suppress the upgrade process? My installation was working quite happily, and then all of a sudden it stopped.
I really want to use crashplan to backup my PCs (as this is the easiest automated solution for my Linux PCs by far), but if it's going to crash (pun intended) every so often then I'm gonna lose all confidence in it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:55 pm
Posts: 20
So I've tried to deinstall crashplan and reinstall, as it's still not working. :cry:

I've made several attempts, but now crashplan seems to start for about 30 seconds, then stops. So at this point it's totally unusable.

Has anyone got any idea how to fix this issue? or failing that, does anyone have the instructions on how to totally deinstall crashplan (I thought I had, by deinstalling and removing the /ffp/crashplan folder; but I may be missing something).

I was toying with the idea of installing the original version I had before it broke (3.5.xxx) but I guess it will just break again as soon as it starts, as it will probably try and do an update.


Really struggling here so any assistance would be welcomed.

Many thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:07 am
Posts: 69
Hi nasingtom

What does your engine_output.log or engine_error.log say? Have a look for error or fail. They can be found in /ffp/crashplan/log. Zip them up and attach them to the forum post so then we can have a look.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:55 pm
Posts: 20
Hi Normsland. Thanks for the assistance

Output as follows:
engine_error.log
Code:
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /usr/local/zy-pkgs/ffproot/ffp/crashplan/libjtux.so: /usr/local/zy-pkgs/ffproot/ffp/crashplan/libjtux.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory (Possible cause: can't load IA 32-bit .so on a ARM-bit platform)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary1(ClassLoader.java:1965)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(ClassLoader.java:1890)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1880)
   at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:849)
   at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1088)
   at jtux.UUtil.init(UUtil.java:14)
   at jtux.UProcess.<clinit>(UProcess.java:30)
   at com.code42.os.posix.PosixProcessCommands.getuid(PosixProcessCommands.java:56)
   at com.backup42.service.CPService.logIds(CPService.java:1448)
   at com.backup42.service.CPService.start(CPService.java:427)
   at com.backup42.service.CPService.main(CPService.java:1848)


Output from engine_output.log
Code:
[03.05.14 16:08:33.144 INFO    main                 root                                    ] Locale changed to English
[03.05.14 16:08:33.152 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[03.05.14 16:08:33.153 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[03.05.14 16:08:33.154 INFO    main                 root                                    ] STARTED CrashPlanService
[03.05.14 16:08:33.163 INFO    main                 root                                    ] CPVERSION = 3.6.3 - 1388556100363 (2014-01-01T06:01:40:363+0000)
[03.05.14 16:08:33.165 INFO    main                 root                                    ] LOCALE = English
[03.05.14 16:08:33.190 INFO    main                 root                                    ] ARGS = [  ]
[03.05.14 16:08:33.190 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *************************************************************
[03.05.14 16:08:34.060 INFO    main                 root                                    ] Adding shutdown hook.
[03.05.14 16:08:34.124 INFO    main                 root                                    ] BEGIN Loading Configuration
[03.05.14 16:08:34.509 INFO    main                 root                                    ] BEGIN Copy Custom
[03.05.14 16:08:34.510 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Directories: [.Custom, custom, /usr/local/zy-pkgs/ffproot/ffp/crashplan/conf/.Custom, /usr/local/zy-pkgs/ffproot/ffp/crashplan/conf/custom]
[03.05.14 16:08:34.606 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   NOT waiting for custom skin to appear
[03.05.14 16:08:34.608 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   NO customizations found.
[03.05.14 16:08:34.608 INFO    main                 root                                    ] END Copy Custom
[03.05.14 16:08:34.675 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Loading from default: /usr/local/zy-pkgs/ffproot/ffp/crashplan/conf/default.service.xml
[03.05.14 16:08:35.515 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Loading from my xml file=conf/my.service.xml
[03.05.14 16:08:36.017 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Loading ServiceConfig, newInstall=true, version=4, configDateMs=null, installVersion=1388556100363
[03.05.14 16:08:36.019 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   OS = Linux
[03.05.14 16:08:36.869 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   AuthorityLocation@6568692[ location=central.crashplan.com:443, hideAddress=false ]
[03.05.14 16:08:36.878 INFO    main                 root                                    ]   Checking Java memory heap max.
[03.05.14 16:08:36.896 INFO    main                 root                                    ]     Previous Java memory max heap size was 192
[03.05.14 16:08:36.912 INFO    main                 root                                    ] END Loading Configuration
Exiting!!! java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /usr/local/zy-pkgs/ffproot/ffp/crashplan/libjtux.so: /usr/local/zy-pkgs/ffproot/ffp/crashplan/libjtux.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory (Possible cause: can't load IA 32-bit .so on a ARM-bit platform)
[03.05.14 16:08:41.500 INFO    main                 root                                    ] *****  STOPPING  *****
[03.05.14 16:08:41.504 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Stopping service...
[03.05.14 16:08:41.748 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] SystemWatcher stopped.
[03.05.14 16:08:41.752 INFO    Thread-0             root                                    ] Service stopped



I can see that there are errors in the files relating to libjtux.so, so I re ran the installation instruction to download this file and the engine is now starting (result!). However, when I try and connect to the nas via my linux crashplan install, it still states that it can;t connect.
So I'm a little nearer now, so I guess I'll be looking at the client side installation now, to see what's wrong with that.

Really hoping that someone can work out how to suppress the update process so this mess doesn't reoccur.



Thanks once again for your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 11:38 am
Posts: 35
@nasingtom:
Have you done the adjustments desrcibed in post #1 under "=== Configuration ==="?! This was my problem after a reinstall because I forgot it, due to the missing numeration as a necessary installation step.

@normsland:
Any news about/fix for the problem with the automatic update?
Perhaps it's somehow possible to uncomment the automatic update part of the crashplan scripts directly after a fresh install of 3.6.3?!
Or perhaps set somewhere a pause so that, should an update be necessary, we can edit the update script for running with our NAS?!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 113 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], MrDini, philippetev and 84 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group