N2R1D Software Upgrade

LG Electronics
Post Reply
twfmike
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:24 am

N2R1D Software Upgrade

Post by twfmike » Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:36 am

I hope you can help me!
I have a N2R1D with 2 x 1TB drives configured as RAID1. I inherited it from my old company when it closed and it has all my old data, archived images, etc.... lots of precious things. Now I also use it at home for backups and photos etc. Never had any problems with it.

I just updated my macbook os to 10.10 (It was running too fast and needed slowing down :roll: ). Before I did this, I shifted loads of stuff from my Hard drive to the NAS to make space. Now i can't access the NAS because "THE VERSION OF THE SERVER YOU ARE TRYING TO CONNECT TO IS NOT SUPPORTED"

The NAS is running firmware 1.0.0_2403 from 2009, so clearly needs updating.
Questions:
1) Where can i find the updates? The links on the LG site http://www.lg.com/us/support-product/lg-N2R1D# don't work.
2) If I can find the updates, can I update and not disturb the data on the NAS discs as I really can't afford to lose it?

I hope someone can help me!

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: N2R1D Software Upgrade

Post by Mijzelf » Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:56 pm

The updates on that page are working for me. But I don't think that helps much, the release notes of the latest firmware (10094, December 2013) show:
6) Mac OS X 10.7 (Lion) support

When you Google on OSX 10.10 samba problems, you'll find that OSX 10.10 dropped support for SMB2, in favor of SMB3. I guess that is the source of your problem. Maybe you can work-around with this FAQ:
MacStrategy wrote:Q. I'm having problems file sharing to a Windows computer/connecting to a Windows server. Is the new SMB2 protocol in Yosemite causing issues?
A. Probably. You can control which protocol is used to connect to file servers in the Finder > Go menu > Connect to Server… dialogue box by using:
  • cifs://server.name.or.ipaddress = SMB1
  • smb://server.name.or.ipaddress = SMB2
  • afp://server.name.or.ipaddress = AFP
as I really can't afford to lose it?
You should have backups. A NAS is not a magical box in which data is safe for eternity. It contains mechanical disks, and sensitive electronics, so it *will fail*, some day.

twfmike
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:24 am

Re: N2R1D Software Upgrade

Post by twfmike » Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:40 pm

Thank you for your reply Mijzelf
Mijzelf wrote:The updates on that page are working for me.
Ah yes, for me too now.

But updating from 2043 to the latest firmware doesn't work - the file isn't accepted. I guess i would need to use some intermediate versions?

You can control which protocol is used to connect to file servers in the Finder > Go menu > Connect to Server… dialogue box by using:
  • cifs://server.name.or.ipaddress = SMB1
  • smb://server.name.or.ipaddress = SMB2
  • afp://server.name.or.ipaddress = AFP
This looks hopeful, but I have tried
[*]smb://192.168.0.6 = SMB2
and then tried
[*]cifs://192.168.0.6 = SMB1
and I still get the same message when i try to access the drive.

Any other suggestions?
You should have backups. A NAS is not a magical box
Yes! My bad. The NAS was originally used as a back-up, but I have now started shifting things onto it for primary storage as my laptop HD filled up. I guess I have been relying on a level of safety from the RAID configuration - my understanding is that there are 2 copies of the data on 2 separate HD's - but you are right an independent back-up is the thing to do. If I can access the drive, I swear it's the first thing I'll do!

Mijzelf
Posts: 6251
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: N2R1D Software Upgrade

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Mar 03, 2015 10:24 am

But updating from 2043 to the latest firmware doesn't work - the file isn't accepted. I guess i would need to use some intermediate versions?
Perfectly possible. Well, the page contains older firmwares as well.
Any other suggestions?
Try FTP. Even Apple wouldn't dare to cripple that.

twfmike
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:24 am

Re: N2R1D Software Upgrade

Post by twfmike » Wed Mar 04, 2015 7:28 am

Thanks for your help Mijzelf.

I went through each firmware update in turn and it's all good again. (Actually, I tried alternate updates but that didn't work, so I tried every one.)

Now... I will get it backed up!

Post Reply