General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Fri Jul 21, 2017 2:34 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2016 7:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 7:12 pm
Posts: 2
Hi,

I'm preparing my N2B1DD2 to sell so I want to securely erase everything. I upgraded to the "new" UI and latest firmware, which erased all the data. Can someone tell me if the data is still recoverable and, if so, what can I do to securely erase it to ensure that it cannot be recovered?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6014
Do you have shell access? In that case you can do:
Code:
cd /path/to/some/samba/share
dd if=/dev/zero of=bigfile bs=16M &
This will write one big file containing zero's spanning the whole volume. Of course this will take some hours, but you can keep an eye on the progress by looking at the share. If the disk is full, dd will stop, and you'll only have to delete that file to have a securely erased volume.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 3:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2016 7:12 pm
Posts: 2
yes - thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group