General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 9:38 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: No original disk drives
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2014 6:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 6:19 pm
Posts: 7
Hello
i have a 5big network 2,
2 drives were dad and the 3 other were removed and formatted or use on an Mac...
i bought 5 new drives, but the box does not boot, i think i do not any OS any more...
is there a way to get the box working with my 5 new drives ?
thx


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2014 6:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6079
If the box is new enough, this might work.

And else, have a look here.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 7:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 6:19 pm
Posts: 7
many thx for reply
LNA even in recovery mode was not detecting the device
your 2nd link also didn't bring new information to me
just got the device to start booting with the information here: http://plugout.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=1402
it took an IP on my dhcp but the browser is still saying "Please wait while loading ..."
doesn't seem to get me to the login...
i still have only one disk plugged in
any suggestion ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 7:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 773
what did you do ? only loaded or did you install the fvdw-sl firmware ?

(for 5big2 installation you need to use fvdw-sl console 15-3)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 6:19 pm
Posts: 7
no i didn't install fvdw-sl firmware
just only used fvdw-sl console 15-3 to access the device by telnet
and followed all the steps, thy provide images from original Lacie firmware
so deleted all partitions, created them all manually, restored the images etc
and after echo "LaCieFirstBootLaCie" | dd of=/dev/sda the devices booted +-
but the dashboard still doesn't come, only the progress bar...

for info: "mkfs.xfs /dev/sda2" didn't work...


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 773
if mkfs.xfs didn't work then the lacie firmware will not run
The standad mkfs.xfs in the standalone kernel won't work, you need an adapted version and some files of glibc.

You can find in this post of the thread

http://plugout.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t ... =20#p12278


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 6:19 pm
Posts: 7
many thx yes saw the file, i downloaded it but i didn't know how to use it :D
i am not used to linux commands
can you give me the commands to tftp and uncompress it to the right place ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 10:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 773
when you have the telnet client open and connected perform the command as described in the post were you downloaded the file, it specifies the tftp command to use to upload the file, of course first unzip the arvive to get the tar archive...

then in the telnet client again try the command

Code:
mkfs.xfs /dev/sda2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 9:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 6:19 pm
Posts: 7
:D :D :D
just did the whole thing from the beginning
all fine, device is working

many many thx


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2014 9:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 6:19 pm
Posts: 7
hi again
i think i was happy little bit to fast :)
my device has now the correct firmware, it boots OK, and I can access web interface without any problem
i plugged in the 4 other new disks, empty no partitions at all
the device can see them they are marked as new but i can't create RAID
nor 0 nor 5 nothing it always comes but with complete wrong sizes

could you please give me mdadm instructions to clean it all and create a new empty correct raid 5 with my 5 2tb disks ?
it should give me 8 tb i think

thx


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6079
Did you already partition the disks, and install the firmware?

If yes, then you should first find the UUID from your current array, as there is some nasty bootscript which tests for it.
Code:
mdadm --detail /dev/md0 | grep UUID
Of course your device node can be different. Or, if you don't have the array assembled,
Code:
mdadm --examine /dev/sd[abcde]2


Then stop the array
Code:
mdadm --stop /dev/md0
and re-create it:
Code:
mdadm --create /dev/md0 --uuid="UUID" --level=raid5 /dev/sd[abcde]2


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group