General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:37 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 134
Hi fvdw,

First let me say that your firmware seems to be very good! Nice job!

Reggarding the issue, in my case (which seems similar to Fonzman) it's a 2Bg Network 2 with disks preinstalled.

I have two power suply and neither work on this NAS, so it's not a power supply issue.
The etherled led is only active when i put the on button on the lacie so it seems it's getting power.

I also tried clunc as Mijzelf described using (computer and nas directly wired to the router):
Code:
./clunc -i 192.168.1.155

And nothing happens.

So we have 2 NAS:
  • 1 5Big Network 2 with no preinstalled disks
  • 1 2Big Network 2 with preinstalled disks
With what seems to be the same problem: only ethernet led, no spin, no leds, no fan.
In my case i tested the raid system in linux and the disks are ok.

I think the problem is at uboot level. But how can we check u-boot if clunc does not work? USB? Serial to the board?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 773
thanks for the compliment, much appreciated, coming days we will release a version with raid support.

To check if u-boot is loading you have two options:
(1) make a wired connection to the serial port on the mainboard, you will need a usb/serial 232 cable TTL lvele 3,3 V.
(2) use clunc and netcat to talk to u-boot via the network card. However this option may not work in case u-boot is halted or hanging to early.

Regarding option 2.
In fact this option is making use of the "net console" that is compiled in u-boot as present on the lacie nas devices. This net console can redirect output/input that is normally sent/received via the serial port to the network interface instead.
How it works ? u-boot checks for a few seconds if it receives a "lump" signal on its network card (in fact a magic packet) and if it receives one it switches to net console mode and redirect in-/output to the network interface. It hen goes in command line mode waiting for further commands to be received via the network card. If no lump signal is received u-boot continuous its normal operation and tries to load the firmware from disk.
Quote:
I also tried clunc as Mijzelf described using (computer and nas directly wired to the router):
./clunc -i 192.168.1.155
And nothing happens.

What clunc does is sending this lump signal and tells u-boot which ip address to set. After clunc has interrupted u-boot you need a program like netcat to make a connection to your nas to talk to u-boot. So clunc alone is not enough. The fvdw-sl console that runs under window can do this for you, sending the lump signal and open a u-boot console window. (see plugout net)
There is one point if u-boot fails to load or hangs before it is able to check for the lump signal and load the net console, then of course you won't be able to connect via the network interface. Then the only way is use a wired connection to the serial port. The fact that you see some live on the network connector gives some hope.

As said the fvdw-sl console could be of use to you to check if u-boot want to talk to you via the network card. If u-boot hangs to early then you need a wired connection to the serial port.

Again to modify u-boot in flash you need either to do that in u-boot itself by uploading an image and write it to flash or use from linux userland a driver to overwrite the flash. This last option is not available in the standard kernels AFAIK. So I don't think it is an u-boot issue, hopefully it is not another failure of the mainboard


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 1:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 134
I tried to register in your forum but it says my mail is spam. i sent you another e-mail.

And how to use "fvdw-sl console"?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 773
I edited the spammers database and send you an e-mail.

The use of fvdw-sl console is easy, download extract in a folder of your choice and run the executable.
Be sure you nas is switched off but connected to the LAN
Then choose the action -boot console. It will open an command window mentioning it is waiting for u-boot.
Now start your nas and the command window will mention when it has interrupted u-boot, asking you to click in window and hit enter.
You should get a prompt like this "marvell>>" Now you can talk to u-boot

You need to allow your firewall to let pass clunc and nc to make a connection
It comes with a help function so more info can be found in there


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 2:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 773
I again removed your registration from the spammers database, don't use the name andreus as its identified as spammer name

http://www.stopforumspam.com/search


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 4:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 134
ok thanks

Is this one? http://plugout.net/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1271

I'm on Windows 8.1 64 bits
UPDATE
Used that version (64 bits):
- disabled the computer firewall
- turn off nas
- computer and ns connect by lan to router
- run fvdw sl console (din't change any values)
- option launch u-boot console
- turn on nas
- Nas ethernet blinkin green (router eth port too), but cmd prompt always waiting ...

Bad sign right?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 773
yes it is a bad sign,
one check what is the pool of ip addresses you router is using ?

if it is 192.168.0.xxx instead of 192.168.1.xxx yu could try to use 192.168.0.252 instead of 192.168.1.252


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 134
no it's 192.168.1.xxx ...

So do you think there is any chance ... only serial to board right? if so can you point one to buy?

Let's also see if Fonzman as better luck with your console

In another topic, i think lacie and seagate partned and made a commom OS.
Lacie NAS OS 4: http://manuals.lacie.com/EN/manuals/nas ... ntro/start
Seagate NAS OS 4: http://www.seagate.com/gb/en/services-s ... ps/nas-os/

Oh, now i understand http://www.engadget.com/2012/08/03/seag ... ase-lacie/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 773
About the cable to connect to the serial port
any cable based on Prolific 2303 will probably do, however be aware that the nas board uses a 3,3 V TTL level.
Most usb to serial cables use 5V. Connecting something giving 5 Volts to your nas mainboard will damage it.
There are cables that have as well a VCC of 5V and 3,3 V. I bought mines years ago it is a 5V one but I made a voltage adjuster in between.

You need something like this http://www.ebay.com/itm/3-3V-USB-2-0-to ... 1c3ea2394b
or here http://www.ftdichip.com/Products/Cables ... Serial.htm

Typically the lacie nas boards only need connection of RX, TX and GND, so VCC not connected.


Last edited by fvdw on Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 134
ok bought. but will have to wait 2-4 weeks.
When it arrives i will try to get to u-boot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 12:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 773
ok we will see


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 134
Pictures of the 2Big Network 2 PCB

http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... 142815.jpg

More in http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/Users/andreus/images/2BigNetwork2/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 134
Just saw in picture http://downloads.lacie.nas-central.org/ ... 142850.jpg

I have a black cilinder (capacitator?) damaged!
I think it's this one http://www.yec.com.tw/Lead-Type/pdf/WPL2R71050812.pdf

This should be the source of the problem!

What do you think?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 6:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:56 am
Posts: 7
Ok .. i am baffled.

Just came back from three days vacation, and - just for curiosity - powered on my 5Big ... and the lights went on! :shock:
It still showed strange behaviour ..

front led blue/red alternating, back leds blue, disks spinning - if I follow lacie, that means a "temperature alert level 1" .. which is impossible, as the whole box was powered off for more than 4 days and the room-temperature was about 16°C

After 2mins of blinking it made a loud sound, and the disk-leds turned off, front led was now only blinking blue. In both cases no access to the web-gui, but it definitely got an IP-address (verified on my router).

Now I think you all where right with your first guess, and the power supply is probably broken! If I press my ear on the power supply, I now hear the high pitch noise which characterises a broken PSU :-( Sorry for my doubts, but it is only 6 months old, and I didn't think it would die THIS FAST!
Tomorrow I will build a new power supply with a cheap ATX-PSU hardwiring a LaCie cable I have lying around .. I already did this with 3 other LaCie-Cubes (4Big FW- and 5Big Thunderbolt editions) so I can confirm it works, and better than the official PSU's!

And I'll call LaCie to get me a new official PSU on warranty ... Just to have it on the shelf. Really bad luck with these ...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 6:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:57 pm
Posts: 134
Cool, you found the issue!

Mine is a power problem too, but it seems to be a capacitator failure.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group