General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 7:50 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:16 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,

I upgraded my 5big2 from OS 1.2 to the last official OS. The update was successfull. To shut it down, I enabled the deep sleep mode and my 5big2 has never start up with LNA or the front button.

I tried several times a factory reset without erasing datas: power on the 5big2 and simultaneously push on the front button until it becomes red. The front LED has never been red. But something was happening because I lost my static IP address. It has now a dynamic address. When I power on the 5big2, the front LED is always flashing blue during hours and hours and the disks are working but why? Only 2 ports are opened: http and https. If I connect myself on the http server. I can read "the device may be starting up. please wait a few minutes." and that's all!

First, I would like to save my datas (if I always have them). Can I connect my 5 disks to a linux box with sata/USB converters? Does the mdadm package installed on this linux recognize the RAID5?

Second, how I can do to start up the 5big2?

Thank you in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:16 pm
Posts: 5
Finally to someone interesting by my discovers:

I remove all disks and connected them to a linux box with mdadm, lvm, xfs.

The linux bos recognized sevral raids. There is no LVM. I mounted the big one (all the seconds disk's partitions). I can read its contains. But as I used my Lacie as an iscsi device, my datas are in a single file "/mounted point>/images/1". It has the same size than my single data partition.

So, how can I mount this file to access its contains???

Do you have an idea?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 12:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6048
You can probably loopmount it.

Code:
mkdir /tmp/mountpoint
mount -o loop /<mounted point>/images/1 /tmp/mountpoint


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:16 pm
Posts: 5
Hello,
You are right but I used kpartx is simpler.

Before I verified my partition,
root# parted /<mounted point>/images/1
GNU Parted 2.3
Using /mnt/sda1/images/1
Welcome to GNU Parted! Type 'help' to view a list of commands.
(parted) unit
Unit? [compact]? B
(parted) print
Model: (file)
Disk /mnt/sda1/images/1: 3992172109824B
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt

Number Start End Size File system Name Flags
1 17408B 3992172092927B 3992172075520B ext3 primary

(parted) quit

And I mounted the image device
root# kpartx -a -v /<mounted point>/images/1
add map loop0p1 (253:0): 0 7797211085 linear /dev/loop0 34
root# ls -la /dev/mapper/
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 80 Jul 10 18:32 .
drwxr-xr-x 14 root root 3440 Jul 10 18:32 ..
crw------T 1 root root 10, 236 Jul 10 2015 control
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 7 Jul 10 18:32 loop0p1 -> ../dm-0
root# mount -t ext3 /dev/mapper/loop0p1 /mnt/lacie/ (my partition was formated in ext3 verify before)

... you can access to your files and copy them.

To umount the partition/device
root# umount /dev/mapper/loop0p1
root# kpartx -d /<mounted point>/images/1
loop deleted : /dev/loop0
# umount /<mounted point>/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group