General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:39 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2015 6:38 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 771
Are you sure that you have a 5big2 with arm processor? There is also a 5big pro with intel processor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm
Posts: 16
hi

its an empty disk. but i tried the procedure with and without disk.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 10:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:47 pm
Posts: 90
Please to answer to fvdw as if you have a 5big2 pro then fvdw-sl can not work with this platform.

And try also to use it with the lacie disks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2015 1:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm
Posts: 16
Hi

I don't have available the original HDD's for the lacie.

How to I check for the processor? Only oppening the NAS? The bottom I have a sticker only saying: "5Big Network 2"

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:47 pm
Posts: 90
I am sorry brunosilva,

but I don't understand you. You wrote previously
Quote:
after I did a firmware upgrade (that didn't complete), I only get lights from the network card (no disk and front lights).

I needed the data from the disks so I took them out.

I only have a hdd in the lacie (from another computer)
So you have the original disks :roll:

If you still have the Lacie box, only these mentions must be present on it:
"5big Network 2" and "Professional 5-bay RAID server"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm
Posts: 16
About the original disks:

when the upgrade failed, because I needed the data, i send those to a recover center and I did get the data back.

Because the lacie still doesn't work, i used the disks in another computer (reformat them and now they have another data).

Only after this I tried to recover the Lacie NAS to use with another disks and read that thoose lacie are not like qnap and other nas that work without disks (I know that there are a diskless version of lacie that work this way also).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:47 pm
Posts: 90
Well, I fear that you have an issue with the LAN1 port...

If it is really a 5big2, it seems that the uboot doesn't receive any stop signal from the network port (It is why in nc window, nothing happens after booting the NAS).
So AFAIK, I am sorry but there is no way to get a remote access to the NAS :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm
Posts: 16
Hi

any way to get direct access to the nas?

any procedure for this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:47 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 771
yes there is , using the the serial interface, for that you need to take it apart and connect your serial cable to the main board. I have no pictures form the mainboard you might find them on the inernet.

To be honest the chance that your lan interface is defect is to my opinion almost zero, centerly because it was working nromally until your "firmware flash". What did you exactly do ? did you try to update u-boot ?

The fact that the front light doesn't come on is also abnormal. The leds in the front and those of the disk should flash when the device is powered even when the firmware (on disk is corrupt). You might have a problem with the power supply ??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm
Posts: 16
Hi

the problem was caused by oficial bad firmware update... didn't want to messy anything up.

about the power supply it has a blue light on. But the nas worked ok before the upgrade.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 9:26 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 771
please describe exactly what the leds do on the front and back side when you power up.

ps the standalone kernel should also work without any disk in the 5big2, that will limit power consumption. If your power supply is critical this may help to let it proceed with boot and detected by the the fvdw-sl cosnole (its a long shot, but reading all the things you already tried, we go to extreme possibilities)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 10:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm
Posts: 16
Hi

without any disks inside and network cable disconnected I only have one blink from each network led. No lights from the "eye" nor the disks.

If i connect a network cable the leds for that LAN starts to blink (this works when I connect a cable to lan1 or lan2).

Everything else if off.

Edit: I already try to boot with one disk and without disks.. no luck :(

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 5:24 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 771
This is not normal behavior, the big button on the front should flash an also the disk leds. If you have only one blink from the lan ports my guess would be, a power supply issue. The 5big2 needs a 5 v and 12v pin if I remember right. Or a defective mainboard, or a corrupt u-boot bootloader. The last optiin is only possible if you played with the flash memory of the nas.

Think you will have to open the nas and connect to the serial console (you will need a 3.3v TTL compatible serial-usb cable)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2015 8:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm
Posts: 16
Hi

I will get the serial loader (hardware).

Is there any place where can I find the procedure to connect and upload "firmware"?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: bad firmware flash
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2015 6:07 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 771
you can not upload "firmware" via serial console. You can only flash u-boot using serial console and a tftp server, but for that your ethernet port must be working.

Did you flash u-boot in the past ?

For the moment I would if I were you try to connect to the serial console and see if u-boot in your nas is still accessible, and I would also try to test the power supply


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group