bad firmware flash

brunosilva
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm

bad firmware flash

Post by brunosilva » Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:54 pm

Hi

after I did a firmware upgrade (that didn't complete), I only get lights from the network card (no disk and front lights).

I needed the data from the disks so I took them out.

I only have a hdd in the lacie (from another computer). Is there a way to give back life to this lacie?

Thanks

Mijzelf
Posts: 6199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by Mijzelf » Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:12 pm

You can install custom firmware from http://plugout.net/ .

brunosilva
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by brunosilva » Sun Sep 13, 2015 10:59 pm

hi

but i dont get any ip for the lacie... its like its dead.

Thanks

Mijzelf
Posts: 6199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:13 pm

Have you read the install instructions for fvdw_sl custom firmware?

brunosilva
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by brunosilva » Mon Sep 14, 2015 8:50 pm

Hi

I think so...

I used console 5.5
A new disk in slot 1
Cable connected to lan1
network at 192.168.1.x (with dhcp server)

with NAS off

choose standalone kernel, load and start
press yes
choose UIMAGE-3142-NWSP2CL-KIRKWOOD-24-standalone file
the command line says "waiting for u-boot..."
turn on the NAS...

and nothing happens...

I have windows 8.1 pro 64bits (firewall off)

I'm I doing something wrong?

Thanks

Jocko
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by Jocko » Tue Sep 15, 2015 7:49 am

Hi brunosilva,
brunosilva wrote:I'm I doing something wrong?
Yes something must be wrong on your side.
(I use fvdw-sl console with success on a windows8.1)

- Some users had issues if they use a wireless connection.
- Also if you have enabled several network interfaces.
brunosilva wrote:and nothing happens...
This is strange as at least a telnet console (dtelnet.exe) should open. If you are disabled your firewall, look at on the side of your anti-virus

brunosilva
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by brunosilva » Tue Sep 15, 2015 12:59 pm

Hi

in this laptop, before this I disabled all the connections except the lan (I have wmvware installed).

last night I also tried with a PC with windows xp 32bits with firewall off and without AV.

Both computers wired.

The command line is waiting for UBoot and nothing... the lights from the NIC of the NAS were blinking... no light from the blue eye nor from the disks...

Could be from the router? I can try another router.

Jocko
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by Jocko » Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:08 am

Hi,

if " nothing happens" means that no command is performed in the nc window after "waiting for u-boot..." then nas and your laptop failed to communicate.

So maybe an issue on the router side.

Can you explain how the laptop and the nas is on your LAN.


Note: you need to use LAN1 port (standalone kernel handles only eth0 Ethernet port)

brunosilva
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by brunosilva » Wed Sep 16, 2015 8:46 am

Hi

I have a router from my isp. it is the dhcp server. The Nas and the laptop are connected to it by wire. 192.168.1.0/24 network with 192.168.1.251/192.168.1.252 ip are free and available to release (I read somewhere that the nas will get this ip?).

Thanks

Jocko
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by Jocko » Wed Sep 16, 2015 11:39 am

Indeed, your NAS should get as IP: 192.168.1.252 (or 251)

So I see two explanations:
1/ In the same time that you tried to upgrade Lacie firmware, network interface died. But I don't believe that.
Note: AFAIK, Lacie upgrade does not flash the uboot.
2/ there is an issue with the network wire between the NAS and your ISP router.

brunosilva
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by brunosilva » Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:39 pm

hi

this night (GMT) I will use a new router and new network cables.

After that I will tell you how it went.

Thanks

fvdw
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by fvdw » Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:22 pm

which lan port do you use on the 5big2, you should use LAN1

brunosilva
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by brunosilva » Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:22 pm

Hi

lan1

brunosilva
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 4:51 pm

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by brunosilva » Wed Sep 16, 2015 9:43 pm

Hi

i've tried now a SMC router.. and nothing... also changed the network cable... same result.

i've checked in both routers dhcp lease (don't know if NAS make a dhcp request or has fixed ip) and if the router shows anything conected to the lan port... and nothing.

both lights from NAS lan port and also for router are ON. I have an HDD inside slot1 on light is off.

Jocko
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: bad firmware flash

Post by Jocko » Thu Sep 17, 2015 7:28 am

brunosilva wrote: I have an HDD inside slot1 on light is off.
What is it this disk ? It is an empty disk ?

Post Reply