General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:59 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:26 pm
Posts: 2
My NAS crashed 3 weeks ago. Log shows this:

2017-12-28 20:22:33 - The RAID array is inactive
2017-12-28 20:22:30 - The drive in slot 5 is faulty
2017-12-27 05:44:45 - The RAID array is degraded
2017-12-27 05:44:27 - The drive in slot 4 is missing

It says drive 4 is missing - for this disk I hear the dreaded spin-up sound, so I'm pretty sure it's dead.

But it listed the drive in slot 5 as faulty as well, and all the data was gone. The lamps for disk 4 and 5 were turning off / blinking in a different way, indicating that both were bad somehow.

A few days ago I removed the disk in slot 4 and restarted - now the NAS is working. It's blinking red, but I can access the data. I am in the process of copying everything important.

But I've tried a few times to put a brand new drive in slot 4... The first time I did this I could click on a button under drive 4 to make it part of the raid... It started to include the drive, but then I lost access to the raid again, and the whole RAID became inactive again. I've tried to insert the disk a few times since, but it says "working" or something on drive 4 for a while, and then I loose access to all the data again... I remove the disk in slot 4 and restart, and then it comes back up, blinking red.

Any suggestions? Is drive 5 bad as well? Or is it the controller? Or something else?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6166
My first guess would be the power supply. If that is aging, it might not be able to produce enough juice to spin up all disks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:26 pm
Posts: 2
When I change the disk all 5 lamps are on as they should. Everything looks fine.

I tried rebuilding again today. The shares went down, but the RAID manager showed all disks as being online, but listing the raid as crashed and all data lost.

I have tried sending a support question to Lacie. Hope they have a suggestion :/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group