NAS not found

sombetzki
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:53 pm

NAS not found

Post by sombetzki » Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:03 pm

Hello everybody,

I hope you people can give me some answers before I do something stupid and lose my data.
Here at work, we have 3 NAS devices from Lacie; 2 x Lacie 5 Big Network 2 and 1 x Lacie 5 Big Network.

We had some problems with the 5 Big before, so this one has been sent to Lacie for repair and came back empty, but working.
Since then we haven't used this one, because we now have to other 2 5Big Network 2 devices.

They were both working fine, till this morning when windows explorer gave an I/O error and the 5Big Network 2 can't be found on the network anymore.
On each device is data from a different department of our work, so one department can't work without their data.

The situation at the moment;

1 x 5Big Network - empty, working fine
1 x 5Big Network 2 - let's call this one NASBK, working fine, packed with data
1 x 5Big Network 2 - let's call this one NAS, not working anymore, packed with important data!!

NAS doesn't have a blinking light, everything is solid blue, the big light on the front and the small LED's on the back, but it just can't be found on our network.

Is it possible to transfer the HDD's from NAS into NASBK so I can copy all the data from NAS to our old empty 5Big Network?

I hope I'm being clear and someone can help me...

Thanks in advance

sombetzki
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: NAS not found

Post by sombetzki » Fri Dec 23, 2011 3:28 pm

Latest update, I can now ping the NAS, but it doesn't show up in explorer.
When I try to log in to the Dashboard, it shows the following;
Image

Can someone tell me what this means? Is the firmware maybe *#@(*$&?

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: NAS not found

Post by Mijzelf » Fri Dec 23, 2011 9:53 pm

Is it possible to transfer the HDD's from NAS into NASBK so I can copy all the data from NAS to our old empty 5Big Network?
I'm afraid not. The 2big2 has a small EEprom in which the UUID of the raidarray is written. The box will only mount the array when the UUID fits. I think the 5big2 has an equal mechanism.
Is the firmware maybe *#@(*$&?
Maybe. But try another browser/computer, to rule out the client side. When that doesn't help, you could try a factory reset.

sombetzki
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: NAS not found

Post by sombetzki » Fri Dec 23, 2011 9:58 pm

I've checked it on 3 different systems and the problem keeps.
I'd do a factory restore, but I'm afraid of data loss...

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: NAS not found

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:53 am

I can imagine. Well, the box is not *supposed* to delete the data on a factory reset, but, on the other hand, it's not supposed to fail in booting either.

When you have the possibility to connect the disks all simultaneously to a PC (via Sata or USB, or a combination), you could boot it from a Linux Live CD of -USB stick, assemble and mount the raidarray, and copy the data elsewhere, before attempting a factory reset.
Maybe 3 or 4 disks is enough, depending on the raid arrangement.

sombetzki
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: NAS not found

Post by sombetzki » Mon Jan 02, 2012 10:57 am

I've connected 4 disks to a pc and with the help of a knoppix live cd I am able to access all the data... :D
I'm currently copying everything to another NAS. Thanks for your help!

sombetzki
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: NAS not found

Post by sombetzki » Tue Jan 03, 2012 9:30 am

Well, somehow the copy'ing of the files failed last night and trying to rebuild the array gave me errors...
So I tried a different computer (one that has 6 sata connectors) and tried to rebuild the same array with al 5 disks connected.

This is what happened;

sudo mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sda2 /dev/sdb2 /dev/sdc2 /dev/sdd2 /dev/sde2 --run
mdadm: failed to add /dev/sda2 to /dev/md0: Invalid argument
mdadm: failed to RUN_ARRAY /dev/md0: Input/output error
mdadm: Not enough devices to start the array.

There can't be not enough devices, they are all connected and they all show up.

Can someone help me out? I need the data on the disks!!!

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: NAS not found

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:02 am

Does /dev/md0 exist? Have you tried without /dev/sda2? (Are you sure about sda? How about the internal disk?). What does 'cat /proc/mdstat' say?

sombetzki
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: NAS not found

Post by sombetzki » Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:16 am

I'm not an expert on linux, but I've entered the following as you asked;

knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [raid6] [raid5] [raid4]
md0 : inactive sda2[0] sdc2[3] sdb2[1]
4389383424 blocks

unused devices: <none>

The disk that gave an error before (sda2), is disconnected at the moment.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: NAS not found

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:56 am

Hm. I'm not an expert in software raid, but this doesn't look good.

There are 3 partitions added to md0, accomplishing roles 0, 1 and 3. So according to this output at least 4 disks are needed to assembled the array, and role 2 is lacking. Apparently it choked in /dev/sdd2 (But I don't know what that means).

You can view all known partitions with 'cat /proc/partitions', and check them for raid superblocks (describing raid level, role, ...) with 'mdadm --examine --scan --config=partitions'. Maybe that clears things up.

sombetzki
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: NAS not found

Post by sombetzki » Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:10 pm

This is what the scan examine command gives me... tells me nothing about raid level, role etc. At least, not what I can see...

knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ mdadm --examine --scan --config=partitions
ARRAY /dev/md0 UUID=f119c060:b6aed27c:16ff62be:e66a4554
ARRAY /dev/md3 UUID=a19c4913:e3a2ac7d:24beebdc:da2939c8
ARRAY /dev/md0 UUID=7a6254e0:00702488:71d667d8:1b838c0e
ARRAY /dev/md1 UUID=74c0c1dc:50b78fc6:0c4bb2be:e7f8ef72
ARRAY /dev/md2 UUID=61f3e5d9:5b0ca2db:609f7539:f311988f
knoppix@Microknoppix:~$

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: NAS not found

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:16 pm

Try 'mdadm --examine --scan --config=partitions --verbose'

Is it possible that you actually have 4 arrays?

sombetzki
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: NAS not found

Post by sombetzki » Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:24 pm

I can't imagine why I should have 4 arrays, maybe it's for other purposes of the NAS.
The system I'm doing this on only has 4 of the HDD's from the NAS connected and a CD-Rom drive for knoppix

verbose gives me the following;

knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ mdadm --examine --scan --config=partitions --verbose
ARRAY /dev/md0 level=raid5 num-devices=5 UUID=f119c060:b6aed27c:16ff62be:e66a4554
devices=/dev/sdd2,/dev/sdc2,/dev/sdb2,/dev/sda2
ARRAY /dev/md3 level=raid1 num-devices=5 UUID=a19c4913:e3a2ac7d:24beebdc:da2939c8
devices=/dev/sdd5,/dev/sdc5,/dev/sdb5,/dev/sda5
ARRAY /dev/md0 level=raid1 num-devices=5 UUID=7a6254e0:00702488:71d667d8:1b838c0e
devices=/dev/sdd7,/dev/sdc7,/dev/sdb7,/dev/sda7
ARRAY /dev/md1 level=raid1 num-devices=5 UUID=74c0c1dc:50b78fc6:0c4bb2be:e7f8ef72
devices=/dev/sdd8,/dev/sdc8,/dev/sdb8,/dev/sda8
ARRAY /dev/md2 level=raid1 num-devices=5 UUID=61f3e5d9:5b0ca2db:609f7539:f311988f
devices=/dev/sdd9,/dev/sdc9,/dev/sdb9,/dev/sda9

The first one looks like the normal data array, doesn't it?
Can't I just mount this?

edit:typo

Mijzelf
Posts: 6226
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: NAS not found

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:32 pm

sombetzki wrote:The first one looks like the normal data array, doesn't it?
Can't I just mount this?
Indeed that one is 'the one'. But you wasn't able to assemble it.

Try 'mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sdd2 /dev/sdc2 /dev/sdb2 /dev/sda2 --run --verbose'

And yes, of course you have more than 1 array. The firmware itself is also in raid. Should have known that.

sombetzki
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: NAS not found

Post by sombetzki » Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:44 pm

knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sdd2 /dev/sdc2 /dev/sdb2 /dev/sda2 --run --verbose
mdadm: device /dev/md0 exists but is not an md array.

...

Post Reply