General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:59 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2014 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:47 am
Posts: 20
Ok, I solved the first problem. I breaked the boot process through serial, cleared the memory and it' s working now, no idea why it was messed. But still without external usb...
I copied the compiled modules to the lib dir, and now I can do
Code:
modprobe usb-storage

without error, but the usb disk doesn' t show in fdisk -l:
Code:
Disk /dev/sda: 750.2 GB, 750156374016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 91201 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xdd73edf6

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1         154     1228800    5  Extended
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2             154       91202   731343872   83  Linux
/dev/sda5               1          17      131072   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6              17          18        8192   83  Linux
/dev/sda7              18         154     1086464   83  Linux

dmesg after plugging the disk (when I hadn't the drivers, this was different):
Code:
usb 1-1: new high speed USB device using ehci_marvell and address 3
usb 1-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
scsi3 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
usb-storage: device found at 3
usb-storage: waiting for device to settle before scanning
scsi 3:0:0:0: Direct-Access     SAMSUNG  HD103SI               PQ: 0 ANSI: 2 CCS
sd 3:0:0:0: [seb] 1953525168 512-byte hardware sectors (1000205 MB)
sd 3:0:0:0: [seb] Write Protect is off
sd 3:0:0:0: [seb] Mode Sense: 34 00 00 00
sd 3:0:0:0: [seb] Assuming drive cache: write through
sd 3:0:0:0: [seb] 1953525168 512-byte hardware sectors (1000205 MB)
sd 3:0:0:0: [seb] Write Protect is off
sd 3:0:0:0: [seb] Mode Sense: 34 00 00 00
sd 3:0:0:0: [seb] Assuming drive cache: write through
 seb: seb1
sd 3:0:0:0: [seb] Attached SCSI disk
sd 3:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg1 type 0
usb-storage: device scan complete


So, I feel now that I'm just one step behind the end, but I don't know which the step is. :)
Perhaps I choose a wrong option in the kernel .config?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2014 5:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6086
fdisk is not the best tool to show all block devices. Try 'cat /proc/partitions' instead.

Seeing your dmesg log I think the disk should be /dev/seb, and fdisk can't show it because the device node is lacking.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:47 am
Posts: 20
It worked ! It was seb1, but I couldn't mount it because there was no device with that name in /dev.
So I entered
mknod seb b 8 16
mknod seb1 b 8 17
Then, I mounted it.

Mijzelf, thanks, thanks, thanks. I owe you several beers, coffees, or what do you prefer.

When I have everything configured, I will upload the image of the disk, i somebody needs it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:47 am
Posts: 20
So, if someone needs to install a new disk, those are the steps:
Format the disk with one extended partition of about 1 Gb (sda1), and inside this partition create:
/dev/sda5 of 128 Mb, type linux-swap
/dev/sda6 of 8 Mb, type ext3 (doesn't mattter the type really)
/dev/sda7 of the remaining of the partition, type ext3
Format the rest of the disk as ext3 (sda2)

- Download the sda6 image from https://www.dropbox.com/s/esbydwxjteqgahj/sda6 and do
dd if=sda6 of=/dev/sda6

Then you have two options:
- Download the sda7 disk from https://www.dropbox.com/s/oz7xecr73z673bm/sda7.tar.gz and copy it to sda7. In this way, you will have a working system with support for external usb, some packages already installed, samba ready to be configured.
- Or, do a bootstrap (you can follow http://www.rigacci.org/wiki/doku.php/do ... d2_network) and then copy the modules compiled from the lacie GPL (https://www.dropbox.com/s/xsjis8vggr7ti ... ork.tar.gz). For external usb support, I needed to do
Code:
depmod
modprobe usb-storage
mknod /dev/seb b 8 16
mknod /dev/seb1 b 8 17

And then mount the external disk. You need to put a script to do the mknod on every reboot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 3:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:13 pm
Posts: 35
hello,
i need a litle help.
i tried to install debian on a Lacie d2 Network (v2 it sais) following this guide http://lacie-nas.org/doku.php?id=debian_install and modify archNumber to 2203 i manage to boot the kernel, but it remains in
Uncompressing Linux......................................................................................................... done, booting the kernel.

so i thought i need to upgrade the stock uBoot with a newer one ... so i use this guide here http://lacie-nas.org/doku.php?id=uboot
i downloaded the file u-boot-d2net_v2-2011.12-00260-ga24d58e.kwb from ftp://lacie-nas.org/u-boot and gave the command
Code:
bubt u-boot-d2net_v2-2011.12-00260-ga24d58e.kwb

all went well until i pressed y instead of n in "Override Env parameters? (y/n) n" and reset the box.
after the reset from uBoot only the network is blinking ...the main led is not blinking anymore....

the above operations were made by serial console..after the reset..there is no output on serial console....
so do you think that i broke the flash? if i broke the uBoot how can i recover somehow?
or is just in a state that can be recovered? i override the env variables so .... maybe if i cand see what env variables are set in the u-boot-d2net_v2-2011.12-00260-ga24d58e.kwb ..maybe i can logon using netconsole


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2015 1:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6086
I have a bad feeling about this. If your box is dead after flashing u-boot, you'll need jtag to recover that. Maybe there is an easier option, google for kw-boot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2015 10:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:13 pm
Posts: 35
but isn't a way to open the u-boot-d2net_v2-2011.12-00260-ga24d58e.kwb to see what env variables are set?
maybe netconsole is running but i dont't know the ip address wich i guess is set to static (because i don't get ip from dhcp)..
i found a post http://forum.nas-central.org/viewtopic.php?f=240&t=16651 with a lacie d2 network 2 bricked as mine :
- the drives don't spin
- the lights don't flash
- but the network lights do work
- but my router does not assign it an IP\

it seems that he manage to repair the board by writing the right eeprom...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2015 1:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6086
Yes, by desoldering the eeprom, write it in an external programmer, and solder it back. *If* kw-boot works for you, it's much easier.

BTW, you can probably read the default environment by executing 'strings' on your u-boot binary.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2015 7:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:13 pm
Posts: 35
i have just read the this topic about kwboot http://forum.doozan.com/read.php?3,7852,7852
it sais here to have
Code:
a working serial connection to a compatible Kirkwood device
..i have a console...but i don't know if i can send/receive anything on it ... since i flashed the new .kwb file the serial console doesn't show anything... it's like is not connected.
do you think that the serial can be use using kwboot it it doens't show anything??
well i'll give it a try tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2015 7:36 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 775
You need a second device (pc running linux) connected to the lan that runs kwboot. This device will send an u-boot image to you r nas when it powers up. The bootloader checks for uart boot before it tries to read uboot from flash. That image is loaded to ram via uart (network interface). When this succeeds you will get an u-boot prompt on the serial console. If that succeeds you can put a new version of u-boot in flash from the console. The real question is here if this device supports uart booting? secondly you need an uboot image that can be loaded via uart and last when uart booting succeeds and you have an uboot prompt on your console you will need an uboot image that you can put in flash...

--edit, I had a quick loook in my files, I might be able to compile as well the uart as the flash version of u-boot for you. I did it in the past for other kirkwood devices. The u-boot sources that I have contain the setups for a d2net V2

But because the the mainline version I used bricked your nas, how sure are you that you really have a d2net V2 ?
What kind of processor is present on the main board


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 6:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:13 pm
Posts: 35
hello fwdw,
i am in front of the board right now.
the board it says d2Next-NAS, cpu Marvell Orion MV-88f5182-A2 C400

found this specs on Lacie Ethernet BigDisk V2

front image
Image

back image
Image

so what uboot should i use?
do you think that u-boot-net2big_v2-2011.12-00260-ga24d58e.kwb ftp://lacie-nas.org/u-boot/u-boot-net2big_v2-2011.12-00260-ga24d58e.kwb is good ? or should i try u-bootv1_4_alpha3.bin from the lacie-stock?


EDIT :
i tried the alpha bin, alpha renamed as kwb, u-boot-net2big_v2-2011.12-00260-ga24d58e.kwb
kwboot-tool# ./kwboot -t -B 115200 /dev/ttyUSB0 -b u-bootv1_4_alpha3.bin

unfortunatly nothing works ... it's just saying

Sending boot message. Please reboot the target...|


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 7:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6086
Quote:
MV-88f5182-A2 C400
That is not a Kirkwood, it's an Orion. So you don't have a D2v2, but a D2. Their u-boot's are not exchangable. And, unfortunately, kw-boot won't work either.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 8:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:13 pm
Posts: 35
Hello Mijzelf.
I was a little bit confuse but i got it right now.
The board is Lacie d2 Network v2 not Lacie d2 Network 2 , see bellow image

Image

You said that the u-boot is not exchangeble so i flashed the wrong file u-boot-d2net_v2-2011.12-00260-ga24d58e.kwb which is for Lacie d2 Network 2 not for Lacie d2 Network v2 . i was confused here by the name u-boot-d2net_v2 ...
I search the uboot page and i found that the uboot is not supported for Lacie d2 Network (or Lacie d2 Network v2) ...
so i think the only thing left to do is to get the chip out and try reprogramm it. ...
so the next steps should be ...
1. find the right eeprom rom for this board
2. remove the chip from the board (how can i find the right eeprom chip? .. is it ic19, ic32 or ic33? second image on previous post where i put pictures with the board)
3. read the chip/write the eeprom to it
4. solder it back and power on

EDIT:
found a magnifier ar read the IC

1 .IC19
SC4519
0912
G57386

2. IC32
HT24LC08
A913Y0032G2

3. IC33
RICOH
372A
J45


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 9:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:13 pm
Posts: 35
ic32 - HT24LC08 is CMOS 8K 2-Wire Serial EEPROM

ic33 - RICOH 372A CMOS type real-time clock which is connected to the CPU via 2-wires and capable of serial transmission of clock and calendar data to the CPU.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installing Debian
PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6086
I think it's IC15, the big chip with MX on it. I guess it's a 2048 or 4096 Mbit nor chip.

/edit: of course that should be kbit, not Mbit.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group