Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post Reply
Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by Mijzelf » Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:17 pm

Is it this box? Google can't find a HMND2 for me.

Razzachianina
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:13 pm

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by Razzachianina » Mon Sep 14, 2015 5:56 am

Mijzelf wrote:Is it this box? Google can't find a HMND2 for me.
Yes! Is this box...

ptelleria
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by ptelleria » Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:17 am

Hi,
Careful, because you didn't pue "CE" in the name.
If its this box http://iomega.nas-central.org/wiki/Category:Home_Media
then this is the page to install the stock firware over a new hd: http://iomega.nas-central.org/wiki/Inst ... ome_Media)

But if you have the HMNHDCE, the I'd suggest you install Openmediavault. There's a thread in this forum, plus quite some info in the product forum.

pini2211
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by pini2211 » Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:36 pm

Hi, i succesfully restored my HMND2, or cloud edition, but i use the disk for photos.
bs=1M make blocksize of 1mb, so my pictures that are less than 100kb , now are 1mb each. How can i make to reduce that?

Thanks in advance.

asharx
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2013 5:20 pm

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by asharx » Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:27 pm

Last night I was successful in breathing life back into my HMNHD-CE. I had originally tried to follow the steps from http://iomega.nas-central.org/wiki/Reco ... edia_CE%29. I am not familiar with ubuntu and I was always messing up the way I was doing the 1st 32mb of the hard drive.

Last ditch attempt was yesterday, I found this youtube video of someone walking through the above Recovery site.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CL-0K7zaUI0

I now have a working drive again and am very happy.

Thank you everyone for your contribution putting that resource together.

Regards,

Glenn - Ottawa

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Oct 20, 2015 6:08 pm

@pini2211: The blocksize used by dd to raw write data to a disk has nothing to do with the blocksize of the used filesystem. The latter will be 4kB, in most cases.

pini2211
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by pini2211 » Mon Oct 26, 2015 5:58 pm

@Mijzelf Why my blocksize could be 1mb? Im using wd 2tb discs. I have 3 original HMND2 or like the box says HMNHD CE.
Originaly came with 3tb, 2tb and one with 1tb disk. I think hardware is the same in all 3.
Is there anyway to change my blocksize?
Anyone with the same problem?

Thanks

ptelleria
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by ptelleria » Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:01 pm

No.
As mentioned earlier, I moved to OpenMediaVault long ago, and far more satisfied than with the stock firmware.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:06 pm

@pini2211: Why do you think you have a 1MB blocksize?

@ptelleria: Whom are you talking to?

ptelleria
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by ptelleria » Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:22 pm

Well spotted @Mijzelf
I clarify previous reply of "No" was to @pini2211
Anyone with the same problem?
Not to
Is there anyway to change my blocksize?
Which I would assume its 4Kb (I doubt very much 1 Mb!)

pini2211
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:20 pm

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by pini2211 » Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:57 pm

@ptelleria
@Mijzelf

When i enter Properties on a picture on the disk. It says, size 3.81kb. Size on disk 1.00MB.
Thats why i think my block size is 1mb.
Thanks
Its there an easy way to move to Openvault?

Thanks

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Oct 27, 2015 8:55 am

pini2211 wrote:When i enter Properties on a picture on the disk. It says, size 3.81kb. Size on disk 1.00MB.
That is in Windows, I guess? Ignore it. The Samba protocol, which is used for file transfer between NAS and PC, just doesn't provide this information. So Windows is just guessing.

If you really want to know the used size on disk, you have to login over ssh, and execute

Code: Select all

du -h /path/to/file

ptelleria
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:03 pm

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by ptelleria » Mon Nov 09, 2015 3:24 pm

Its there an easy way to move to Openvault?
Well, more or less, but it'll require some dedication.
In the first instance, look at:
viewtopic.php?f=269&t=6277
viewtopic.php?f=269&t=13953
http://forums.openmediavault.org/index. ... ng-on-ARM/
You'll need wheezy for OMV1.x. Currently , OMV http://www.openmediavault.org/ its on v2.x, but I haven't migrated to the lates, as the DEV said its mainly UI changes.
Quite some info in http://forums.openmediavault.org/ and good support. Biggest issue was solved here http://forums.openmediavault.org/index. ... t-problem/

User avatar
Russo
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 5:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by Russo » Wed Jul 20, 2016 5:58 pm

Hello!

Fine?
skywing wrote:I am accidentally broke firmware of my HMND - Cloud Edition, when I read HDD image in Linux desktop. Can your upload original HDD image of HMND CE 1TB or 2TB, so that I could download and unpack on my 1st and 2nd partition of HDD, as described in this solution "http://iomega.nas-central.org/wiki/Inst ... ome_Media)" . So I need download mbr+uboot+kernel.gz and sda1-2064.tgz for Cloud Edition only. Please help me. Thanks a lot.
You could solve the problem of your Iomega NAS HMND2 Cloud Edition?

[ ]'s Russo

honguito10
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 2:42 am

Re: Can your help me restore original firmware?

Post by honguito10 » Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:03 am

My Home Media Network Hard Drive was not working fine after upgrade.

I followed the recovery process and now my drive is working fine.

I upgrade the firmware 3.2.10.30101 and the drive stop working using the web interface and the EMC manager software.

But I was able to access my data from an macbook air and also my iphone was able to open all the media content by VLC.

I followed the instructions how to recover it and is working fine, and all my files still in the drive, nothing was erased.

Im so happy, thank you very much for the people who wrote the tutorial.

Now I have the firmware 3.1.14.995 again

Thanks!

Post Reply