General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 3:09 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: HMNHD-CE Partition Table
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
Hi !!

Is there any chance to partition the 2 TB Version ?
I need an 200 GB ext3 Partition for my Linux based Satelite Receiver.
Seems it cant handle 2 TB at all.
Which fileformat is on the NAS ?

Matthias


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 7:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 4594
The NAS uses xfs for it's data partition. More info here.

When you could repartition your disk, how would you connect it to that receiver?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
the receiver can save the Films on the NAS.
ext3 is recommendet for that.
small partition recommendet too.
can i change that ?

FritzBox got NAS funktion too, there are no problems with receiver and NAS.
i got an 300 GB ext3 external harddisk on the FritzBox.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
So its not possible to create an 200 GB ext3 Partition on the HardDrive ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 4594
Sorry for not reacting anymore.

A few points:
- Theoretically you can repartition the disk. But the firmware does strange things with the partition table, so I wouldn't mess with a working device.
- From your point about the Fritzbox I understand that the receiver is connected to the disk by network. But in that case it doesn't matter which filesystem is used. A fileserver serves files, not filesystems. Actually the client cannot even know which filesystem the server uses. *Maybe* the size matters, but I don't think so. Possibly the free space. The receiver could ask the server about it's free space, and go mad when it's too much.

Are you telling that the receiver can store movies on the Fritzbox, but cannot on the HMNHD-CE. Do you get any error message?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 5:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
Mijzelf wrote:
Are you telling that the receiver can store movies on the Fritzbox, but cannot on the HMNHD-CE. Do you get any error message?

Its only in Tiimeshift mode.
Fritzbox works correct.
The Iomega in Timeshift mode mess up when a new File is written. 1,5 GB each file. When new File is written no more playback and the receiver hang up.
In record mode the NAS writes the 1,5 GB normaly.
For Timeshift is a bit to slow i think. The receiver can test speed.
FritzBox NAS cant be tested !?
Iomega 100% rec 5 mb/s
100% playback 4,5 mb/s
Timeshift only 39% 1,6mb/s <- maybe its this

But i think the FritzNAS isnt faster !!
Sat receiver only 100 mbit
Fritzbox 100 mbit
Fritzbox on Gbit switch
Iomega with Gbit on switch


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 7:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 4594
Matthias76 wrote:
But i think the FritzNAS isnt faster !!
I agree. I don't have numbers, but I can't imagine an additional function on a router can outperform a 'real' NAS. Anyway, the HMNHD-CE should be able to saturate the 100Mbit connection to the receiver in both directions simultaneously without problems.

When recording takes 5mb/sec, (Mbit or Mbyte?) I suppose timeshifting does 5mb up and down simultaneously. When that's 5MByte, it looks like there is a half duplex connection somewhere, in which case many collisions will occur.

Is your current connection NAS <-> 1GBit switch <-> Fritzbox <-> receiver? If yes, try to connect the NAS to the Fritzbox, or better, the receiver to the Gbit switch.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2011 8:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
Its Mbyte !!

Speed from FritzNAS to PC is 4 mb ext2, fat is lil slower 3,8 mb
Speed from NAS to PC 100mbit is 8 mb
Speed from NAS to PC 1 Gbit is 20 - 30 mb/s

All Hardware is on the GBit Switch connectet.
The Fritzbox is the router and brings Internet and Phone.
Only got Gbit from PC to NAS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 4594
Matthias76 wrote:
Speed from NAS to PC 1 Gbit is 20 - 30 mb/s
That proves it. The NAS is faster than the network interface of your receiver.
Is the receiver connected to the same switch is the NAS?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 2:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
Mijzelf wrote:
Matthias76 wrote:
Speed from NAS to PC 1 Gbit is 20 - 30 mb/s
That proves it. The NAS is faster than the network interface of your receiver.
Is the receiver connected to the same switch is the NAS?

yes


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 4594
Maybe the switch is the problem. it has to do the 1Gbit to 100Mbit conversion, and I don't know if that can give a performance penalty. You could try to connect the NAS to a LAN port of the Fritzbox, forcing it to 100MBit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
Mijzelf wrote:
Maybe the switch is the problem. it has to do the 1Gbit to 100Mbit conversion, and I don't know if that can give a performance penalty. You could try to connect the NAS to a LAN port of the Fritzbox, forcing it to 100MBit.

Ya good idea, i will try !!

What is a half dupex connection u said earlier !!
other will get 5 mb/s in timeshift mode too.
maybe the cable (8 cable inside)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 9:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 4594
A half duplex connection can send data and receive, but not on the same moment. You get half duplex when
  • You're using a hub instead of a switch.
  • When one of the network interface cards is configured to work half duplex. (maybe as result of auto-negotiation)
  • When some component in between can only handle one stream at a time. (like for instance a crappy 1Gbit to 100Mbit converter)

This has nothing to do with 8 wire cables. 100Mbit uses only 4 wires. 1000Mbit uses 8 wires. When you use a 4 wire cable on Gigabit, it will negotiate at 100Mbit. It is possible to have bad cables (mainly by using the wrong wire-pairs), but they will always give a bad connection. In your case this is unlikely, as all components work fine. (PC<->NAS,Reciever<->Fritzbox). So they all have capable cables.

Your numbers
Quote:
Iomega 100% rec 5 mb/s
100% playback 4,5 mb/s
Timeshift only 39% 1,6mb/s <- maybe its this
Quote:
Speed from FritzNAS to PC is 4 mb ext2, fat is lil slower 3,8 mb
also suggest that the connection between Fritzbox and receiver is better than the connection between Fritzbox and PC. Which points to the 100Mbit-Gigabit conversion.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Germany
done some testing !!

satreceiver and NAS connected to Fritzbox
only satreceiver connected to FritzBox

no better performance

on my pc the Networkkard stands on autoneogation
jumbo frames disabeled

im working with static ip`s cause the NAS wont go to standby when dhcp is on

so u think the satreceiver works on half duplex ?
i got tp-link switch Gbit 8 Ports
Fritzbox only 100 Mbit
PC TP-Link Network Card with Gbit -> extra bought Gbit card and switch to get higher performance
Satreceiver 100 Gbit
Laptop 54 Mbit WLAN

all conneted to the switch
is there any configuration for the switch ?
just connected all to the switch and works
Fritzbox cant configure the LAN Prots i think


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 4594
Quote:
so u think the satreceiver works on half duplex ?
No. I suggested that something between the NAS and the receiver was doing half-duplex. But since connecting both the NAS and the receiver to the Fritzbox doesn't solve the problem, I suppose it's something else. (And I have no idea)
Quote:
is there any configuration for the switch ?
Only if it's a managed switch. But I suppose you would know if you had one, they are significantly more expensive than 'dumb' switches.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group