HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Matthias76
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Location: Germany

HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Matthias76 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:06 pm

Hi !!

Is there any chance to partition the 2 TB Version ?
I need an 200 GB ext3 Partition for my Linux based Satelite Receiver.
Seems it cant handle 2 TB at all.
Which fileformat is on the NAS ?

Matthias

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Nov 30, 2011 7:49 pm

The NAS uses xfs for it's data partition. More info here.

When you could repartition your disk, how would you connect it to that receiver?

Matthias76
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Location: Germany

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Matthias76 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:32 pm

the receiver can save the Films on the NAS.
ext3 is recommendet for that.
small partition recommendet too.
can i change that ?

FritzBox got NAS funktion too, there are no problems with receiver and NAS.
i got an 300 GB ext3 external harddisk on the FritzBox.

Matthias76
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Location: Germany

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Matthias76 » Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:44 pm

So its not possible to create an 200 GB ext3 Partition on the HardDrive ?

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:13 pm

Sorry for not reacting anymore.

A few points:
- Theoretically you can repartition the disk. But the firmware does strange things with the partition table, so I wouldn't mess with a working device.
- From your point about the Fritzbox I understand that the receiver is connected to the disk by network. But in that case it doesn't matter which filesystem is used. A fileserver serves files, not filesystems. Actually the client cannot even know which filesystem the server uses. *Maybe* the size matters, but I don't think so. Possibly the free space. The receiver could ask the server about it's free space, and go mad when it's too much.

Are you telling that the receiver can store movies on the Fritzbox, but cannot on the HMNHD-CE. Do you get any error message?

Matthias76
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Location: Germany

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Matthias76 » Sat Dec 03, 2011 5:11 pm

Mijzelf wrote: Are you telling that the receiver can store movies on the Fritzbox, but cannot on the HMNHD-CE. Do you get any error message?
Its only in Tiimeshift mode.
Fritzbox works correct.
The Iomega in Timeshift mode mess up when a new File is written. 1,5 GB each file. When new File is written no more playback and the receiver hang up.
In record mode the NAS writes the 1,5 GB normaly.
For Timeshift is a bit to slow i think. The receiver can test speed.
FritzBox NAS cant be tested !?
Iomega 100% rec 5 mb/s
100% playback 4,5 mb/s
Timeshift only 39% 1,6mb/s <- maybe its this

But i think the FritzNAS isnt faster !!
Sat receiver only 100 mbit
Fritzbox 100 mbit
Fritzbox on Gbit switch
Iomega with Gbit on switch

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Dec 03, 2011 7:20 pm

Matthias76 wrote:But i think the FritzNAS isnt faster !!
I agree. I don't have numbers, but I can't imagine an additional function on a router can outperform a 'real' NAS. Anyway, the HMNHD-CE should be able to saturate the 100Mbit connection to the receiver in both directions simultaneously without problems.

When recording takes 5mb/sec, (Mbit or Mbyte?) I suppose timeshifting does 5mb up and down simultaneously. When that's 5MByte, it looks like there is a half duplex connection somewhere, in which case many collisions will occur.

Is your current connection NAS <-> 1GBit switch <-> Fritzbox <-> receiver? If yes, try to connect the NAS to the Fritzbox, or better, the receiver to the Gbit switch.

Matthias76
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Location: Germany

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Matthias76 » Sat Dec 03, 2011 8:26 pm

Its Mbyte !!

Speed from FritzNAS to PC is 4 mb ext2, fat is lil slower 3,8 mb
Speed from NAS to PC 100mbit is 8 mb
Speed from NAS to PC 1 Gbit is 20 - 30 mb/s

All Hardware is on the GBit Switch connectet.
The Fritzbox is the router and brings Internet and Phone.
Only got Gbit from PC to NAS

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Mijzelf » Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:07 pm

Matthias76 wrote:Speed from NAS to PC 1 Gbit is 20 - 30 mb/s
That proves it. The NAS is faster than the network interface of your receiver.
Is the receiver connected to the same switch is the NAS?

Matthias76
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Location: Germany

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Matthias76 » Sun Dec 04, 2011 2:35 pm

Mijzelf wrote:
Matthias76 wrote:Speed from NAS to PC 1 Gbit is 20 - 30 mb/s
That proves it. The NAS is faster than the network interface of your receiver.
Is the receiver connected to the same switch is the NAS?
yes

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Mijzelf » Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:52 pm

Maybe the switch is the problem. it has to do the 1Gbit to 100Mbit conversion, and I don't know if that can give a performance penalty. You could try to connect the NAS to a LAN port of the Fritzbox, forcing it to 100MBit.

Matthias76
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Location: Germany

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Matthias76 » Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:32 pm

Mijzelf wrote:Maybe the switch is the problem. it has to do the 1Gbit to 100Mbit conversion, and I don't know if that can give a performance penalty. You could try to connect the NAS to a LAN port of the Fritzbox, forcing it to 100MBit.
Ya good idea, i will try !!

What is a half dupex connection u said earlier !!
other will get 5 mb/s in timeshift mode too.
maybe the cable (8 cable inside)

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Dec 05, 2011 9:40 am

A half duplex connection can send data and receive, but not on the same moment. You get half duplex when
  • You're using a hub instead of a switch.
  • When one of the network interface cards is configured to work half duplex. (maybe as result of auto-negotiation)
  • When some component in between can only handle one stream at a time. (like for instance a crappy 1Gbit to 100Mbit converter)
This has nothing to do with 8 wire cables. 100Mbit uses only 4 wires. 1000Mbit uses 8 wires. When you use a 4 wire cable on Gigabit, it will negotiate at 100Mbit. It is possible to have bad cables (mainly by using the wrong wire-pairs), but they will always give a bad connection. In your case this is unlikely, as all components work fine. (PC<->NAS,Reciever<->Fritzbox). So they all have capable cables.

Your numbers
Iomega 100% rec 5 mb/s
100% playback 4,5 mb/s
Timeshift only 39% 1,6mb/s <- maybe its this
Speed from FritzNAS to PC is 4 mb ext2, fat is lil slower 3,8 mb
also suggest that the connection between Fritzbox and receiver is better than the connection between Fritzbox and PC. Which points to the 100Mbit-Gigabit conversion.

Matthias76
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 5:50 pm
Location: Germany

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Matthias76 » Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:05 pm

done some testing !!

satreceiver and NAS connected to Fritzbox
only satreceiver connected to FritzBox

no better performance

on my pc the Networkkard stands on autoneogation
jumbo frames disabeled

im working with static ip`s cause the NAS wont go to standby when dhcp is on

so u think the satreceiver works on half duplex ?
i got tp-link switch Gbit 8 Ports
Fritzbox only 100 Mbit
PC TP-Link Network Card with Gbit -> extra bought Gbit card and switch to get higher performance
Satreceiver 100 Gbit
Laptop 54 Mbit WLAN

all conneted to the switch
is there any configuration for the switch ?
just connected all to the switch and works
Fritzbox cant configure the LAN Prots i think

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: HMNHD-CE Partition Table

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:56 am

so u think the satreceiver works on half duplex ?
No. I suggested that something between the NAS and the receiver was doing half-duplex. But since connecting both the NAS and the receiver to the Fritzbox doesn't solve the problem, I suppose it's something else. (And I have no idea)
is there any configuration for the switch ?
Only if it's a managed switch. But I suppose you would know if you had one, they are significantly more expensive than 'dumb' switches.

Post Reply