General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sun Apr 30, 2017 11:02 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 2:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 4:55 pm
Posts: 5
Hi there,

I have the following question: I installed fvdw-sl firmware on my Cloudbox, using a fresh hard drive instead of the original 3 TB one. I want to use this 3TB drive for something else, but before that I want to back up the original Lacie firmware, so that I can restore the Lacie NAS one day (not that I think I will ever be willing to use it :lol: but it won't hurt to have this possibility).
When I ran the lacie-firmware-backup script, it tries to format sda9 and then it fails.
I found this thread on plugout.net http://plugout.net/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=1547&start=10, and backed up the partitions sda1 sda2 and sda3.
My question is, is this enough for restoring the Lacie NAS. I don't need the data which was on the NAS before taking the drive out, I just want to be able to restore the Lacie firmware.

Sorry if this was already discussed somewhere in the forum, I just could not find it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 771
the cloudbox disk with lacie firmware has a different partition structure then the other lacie devices. (it has no partition 9 and there are more difference. You cannot use that backup script.

this is the lacie partition structure on a cloudbox
Code:
Number  Start (sector)    End (sector)  Size       Code  Name
   1            2048            4095   1024.0 KiB  EF02  grub_core      fvdw: ef02 is bios boot partition
   2            4096          397311   192.0 MiB   8300  boot_rescue    fvdw: 8300 linux file system
   3          397312          399359   1024.0 KiB  8300  nv_data   fvdw: 8300 linux file system
   4          399360         3545087   1.5 GiB     FD00  root_1      fvdw: fd00 Linux raid
   5         3545088         6690815   1.5 GiB     FD00  root_2
   6         6690816         8787967   1024.0 MiB  FD00  var
   7         8787968         9312255   256.0 MiB   FD00  swap
   8         9312256      3907029134   1.8 TiB     FD00  user_data

You will need to make copies of partitions 1-5 by using for example command dd if you use linux do do the job. But note that the image will be big for partition 4 and 5 (1.5 GB each), so it will take some tinme. The partition images you could compress later using a program like 7zip or so.
You could also try to copy only the file systems in the partitions 4 and 5 but for that you will will need to assemble the raid array first to be able to mount the partition.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 4:55 pm
Posts: 5
so basically copies of partitions 1-5 are enough to re-create the Lacie NAS using any big enough hard drive (3TB or more), have I correctly understood this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 771
Yes to be save you could also copy partition 6.
Partition 7 is swap when you run out of ram. Partition 8 contains the shared folders (your files) that you stored on th nas.
Of course you also need the info on partition table to be able to recreate it.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 12:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 4:55 pm
Posts: 5
Ok, I'll back them up and hopefully I never have a reason to restore Lacie's NAS :D

Thanks for your answers, @fvdw!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group