General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 12:10 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:15 pm
Posts: 14
Hi! I have a Lacie Cloudbox 2TB with the original Lacie firmware in it. Is there a way of copying this onto another hard drive?
Tried to copy it but I wasn't successful. Took out the hard drive and using a sata-usb, I plugged it to my mac. Copied the first 5GB with dd command and then copied the image onto an empty 500GB hard drive. Tried it, pressed the reset button on the back of the cloudbox, tried the recovery option but nothing. I didn't check anything else. All I know is the cloudbox keeps blinking blue (slow).

The goal here is to save the original LaCie firmware somewhere (as an image or in another smaller hard drive) just in case something happens to the original hard drive. I can even share it if someone wants it.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 9:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:15 pm
Posts: 14
Now I can get access to the web interface but there are no folders and the red led is on. I'm assuming there is something wrong with the file system. I did everything on a mac.
Does anyone know how I can format the partition properly?
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 1:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:15 pm
Posts: 14
I finally did it! I was able to copy the Lacie original firmware from a 2TB to a 256GB drive.

Thanks to those who showed some interest and at least read my posts.

My problem is now solved.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:01 pm
Posts: 6
Biostim wrote:
I finally did it! I was able to copy the Lacie original firmware from a 2TB to a 256GB drive.

Thanks to those who showed some interest and at least read my posts.

My problem is now solved.



Could you explain please step by step how? Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2016 3:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:15 pm
Posts: 14
dabezt wrote:
Biostim wrote:
I finally did it! I was able to copy the Lacie original firmware from a 2TB to a 256GB drive.

Thanks to those who showed some interest and at least read my posts.

My problem is now solved.



Could you explain please step by step how? Thanks!


Hi. Sorry for the late reply. I'm working abroad at the moment and all the instructions and files are in my PC at home.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2016 6:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 1
Hi,

Are back from your trip? Can you post how you did it?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:15 pm
Posts: 14
rodrigo3d wrote:
Hi,

Are back from your trip? Can you post how you did it?


Hi! Yes, I just got back. I'm on it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group