How can i replace the HD

Mijzelf
Posts: 6196
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:51 am

Should be enough. So I guess either your disk is dead, or your sata port, or you are facing some big incompatibility.

nicomartino
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:52 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by nicomartino » Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:13 pm

It's strange because the NAS worked fine until my boss erase the disk... (yes... he did it... :shock:)

I have access to de U-boot command line. How can I test/mount the disk from here?? Thanks!

Another attempt could be to dd the zImage and initd files to an USB Stick, change the bootcmd parameter and boot from the Stick?? Does anyone know how to do it??

Thanks!! and sorry for my english, I'm from Uruguay

Mijzelf
Posts: 6196
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Dec 09, 2015 12:15 pm

nicomartino wrote:I have access to de U-boot command line. How can I test/mount the disk from here?? Thanks!
You can't mount it, AFAIK. You can test it with

Code: Select all

ide reset
ide info
More here.
Another attempt could be to dd the zImage and initd files to an USB Stick, change the bootcmd parameter and boot from the Stick??
That wouldn't help you. The main install is still on harddisk. If sata fails, Linux won't find it either.

nicomartino
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:52 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by nicomartino » Wed Dec 09, 2015 6:34 pm

Hi, thanks for the quick answer!! But could not solve my problem. I log into U-boot cmd and:

Code: Select all

Marvell>> ide reset

Reset IDE: 
Marvell Serial ATA Adapter
Integrated Sata device found

Marvell>> ide info

Marvell>>
So the disk SEEMS to be undetected by the nas, but I test this commands on a working ix2-200 and the result it was the same!!!
maybe the Marvel U-boot don't show information... Someone tried this commands?? :D I 'm running out of ideas!!

Thanks again people!!

ejbauza
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 2:42 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by ejbauza » Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:01 pm

carletto wrote:In my iomega ez media 2 TB the single disc is not ready (it is clicking) and I sustitute it with a 250gb before buying a seagate barracuda 2TB like the original.
I make the 2 dd's on the disc and deployed the firmware into emctools/hm3_images/files.tgz in a 32 gb microsd card fat 32 formatted.

I connected disc and microsd (by an adapter) to ez media (disassembled ) and make a video

https://www.dropbox.com/s/k13u222dy0a6s ... 8.mp4?dl=0

The ez media is continuously looping in this mode:

white led solid for 20 seconds
white blinking , blu solid for 2 minutes and usb accessing led on
2 reds solid and reboot

I prepared the disc with prepare_hd.zip too , i used EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip and downloaded the last firmware
hm3-4.1.108.32627.tar.gz putting it on usb disk into emctools/hm3_images/files.tgz , extract initrd and zImage putting them on hard disc by dd......but the result is always the same:
after the 2 reds solid light it appears to reboot.
I used 3 others usb stick ( 512 mb , 4 gb and 64 gb) instead the microsd.....same results

Any suggestions ???
thanks
I'm having the same problem. Any idea?? Thanks!

hafisch
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by hafisch » Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:55 pm

Hello

I do have exactly the same problem.

Here the steps i processed
  1. Downloading zip-archive
  2. Extracting it to the USB-drive
  3. Copy files to home directory
  4. Preparing the HDD using the linux commands
  5. Mounting HDD to NAS
  6. Attaching USB-drive to NAS
  7. Reboot drive with pressed Reset-button
Here is what happens after booting the NAS with the attached USB-drive and the pressed reset-button.
  1. White LED [20 s]
  2. White LED and blinking blue LED [5 s]
  3. Blue LED and blinking white LED, Access to USB stick (usb LED is flickering) [~10 min]
  4. Power-LED and HDD LED constantly red, NAS is rebooting [
  5. Restart with Point 1
This process is looping infinitely and happens with several different USB-drives.

Does anyone knows what the reason for this behaviour could be?
What else could i try?

Thanks for your answers.

Hafisch

Mijzelf
Posts: 6196
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:41 am

Have you tried to pull the stick when the box reboots?

hafisch
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:37 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by hafisch » Thu Jul 28, 2016 1:53 pm

Hello

I solved the problem.
The cause of the rebooting NAS was the USB-Drive.
The first one had a capacity of 1 GB and caused tge cyclic reboot.
After changing to a 16 GB Stick, everything worked fine.

Thanks a log for your help and best regards from Switzerland
Hafisch

newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:31 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by newbie » Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:56 am

I am newbie I like to play with these cheap Nas devices.
I followed Mijzelf procedures and I got the EZ media box working with a 3.5 Hitachi 80 GB hard drive. I then updated the firmware, and it worked fine.
I then decided, why not try a 2.5 size hard drive western digitial 80gb, followed the same procedures, updated firmware, all went well, yes!!
Then I said, lets use a WD250 GB Hard drive, I figured until I can purchase a 1gb or larger, that will 250gb will work for now. I ran all the same procedures, and updated firmware, and yes!, it worked also. After I placed everything back in the NAS case, and plugged everything in,. IT STOP working. WTF...:(

I tried all the steps that worked for me before,. and nothing works,.. I have tried to break the boot prompt in putty, and just cant get the keyboard to input anything in the u-boot marvell command prompt.
from here I don't know what else to do. , did I brick the nas device ? I see it is still booting till a point, but it looks like its not recognizing something. or searching for something..
Any Ideas or perhaps things I can try would be appreciated. thank you for your help.

this is a log of what I get:


| __ _ _ ____ _____| | |
| |\/| |/ _` | '__\ \ / / _ \ | |
| | | | (_| | | \ V / __/ | |
|_| |_|\__,_|_| \_/ \___|_|_|
_ _ ____ _
| | | | | __ ) ___ ___ | |_
| | | |___| _ \ / _ \ / _ \| __|
| |_| |___| |_) | (_) | (_) | |_
\___/ |____/ \___/ \___/ \__| ** ix1-spi ** ** uboot_ver:0.0.8 **

** MARVELL BOARD: DB-88F6282A-BP LE

U-Boot 1.1.4 (Oct 28 2011 - 15:17:21) Marvell version: 3.6.1 - EMC

U-Boot code: 00600000 -> 0067FFF0 BSS: -> 006CD5A0

Soc: 88F6282 A1 CPU running @ 1200Mhz L2 running @ 600Mhz
SysClock = 400Mhz , TClock = 200Mhz

DRAM (DDR3) CAS Latency = 6 tRP = 6 tRAS = 15 tRCD=6
DRAM CS[0] base 0x00000000 size 128MB
DRAM Total size 128MB 16bit width
Addresses 8M - 0M are saved for the U-Boot usage.
Mem malloc Initialization (8M - 7M): Done
[1024kB@f8000000] Flash: 1 MB

Marvell Serial ATA Adapter
Integrated Sata device found


CPU : Marvell Feroceon (Rev 1)

Streaming disabled
Write allocate disabled


USB 0: host mode
PEX 0: interface detected no Link.
PEX 1: interface detected no Link.
Net: egiga0 [PRIME]
Hit any key to stop autoboot: 0

Reset IDE:
Marvell Serial ATA Adapter
Integrated Sata device found



IDE device not available


IDE device not available
## Booting image at 00040000 ...
Bad Magic Number

IDE device 1: not available


IDE device not available


IDE device not available
## Booting image at 00040000 ...
Bad Magic Number
Marvell>>

Mijzelf
Posts: 6196
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Aug 27, 2016 7:33 am

## Booting image at 00040000 ...
Bad Magic Number
I think this is about the checkum in the uImage. Which means your last flash failed. That can be recovered, unless the flash itself is damaged. But you'll need serial access.
I have tried to break the boot prompt in putty, and just cant get the keyboard to input anything in the u-boot marvell command prompt.
Check the handshake settings of the serial port. If that is hardware, change it to 'none'.

newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:31 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by newbie » Fri Sep 02, 2016 2:54 am

OK I got to the Boot Prompt in Putty,YES!! I had to re-wire the usb/serial adapter, lost 2 usb/adapters of them in the process due too over heat. But Now I can type in the Prompt. yes!!
Now what would be the simplest thing to run in the command prompt to fix the bad flash Mijzelf ?
thanks

Mijzelf
Posts: 6196
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by Mijzelf » Fri Sep 02, 2016 7:55 am

newbie wrote:lost 2 usb/adapters of them in the process due too over heat.
:shock: Then you certainly did something wrong. the adapters are not even supposed to get warm.

I'm afraid I made a mistake. When looking in the Wiki for the exact instructions, I saw uImage is on harddisk, not in flash. In my last post I was assuming uImage is in flash. Which means that after loading u-boot, the next step is to detect the harddisk. But

Code: Select all

Reset IDE:
Marvell Serial ATA Adapter
Integrated Sata device found



IDE device not available
Can you post the output of 'printenv' and 'help'? printenv will show (among a lot of other settings) the boot script, and help will show the available commands.

Are you sure you are using the right power supply for your NAS? Off the top of my head it should be 12V/2A

newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:31 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by newbie » Sat Sep 03, 2016 10:36 pm

Output of the ac charger is 12v 3A

I went ahead and typed what you told me, here it is..

Marvell>> printenv
baudrate=115200
loads_echo=0
rootpath=/srv/ubuntu
netmask=255.255.255.0
run_diag=yes
MALLOC_len=1
ethprime=egiga0
bootargs_end=:::DB88FXX81:eth0:none
image_name=uImage
standalone=fsload 0x2000000 $(image_name);setenv bootargs $(console) root=/dev/mtdblock0 rw ip=$(ipaddr):$(serverip)$(bootargs_end) $(mvPhoneConfig); bootm 0x2000000;
lcd0_enable=0
lcd0_params=640x480-16@60
ethmtu=1500
mvPhoneConfig=mv_phone_config=dev[0]:fxs,dev[1]:fxo
mvNetConfig=mv_net_config=(00:11:88:0f:62:81,0:1:2:3),mtu=1500
usb0Mode=host
yuk_ethaddr=00:00:00:EE:51:81
netretry=no
rcvrip=169.254.100.100
loadaddr=0x02000000
autoload=no
image_multi=yes
ethact=egiga0
console=console=ttyS0,115200
bootargs_root=root=/dev/ram0
bootargs_mtd=mtdparts=spi_flash:0x7e000@0(u-boot),0x1000@0x7f000(env),0x1000@0x7e000(env2)
kernelimage=zImage
initrdimage=mfginitrd
ipaddr=192.168.1.2
mfgmodel=ix1
preroot_ver=0.0.2
fw_ver=0.0.2
uboot_ver=0.0.8
serial_number=5563Z01001G206005FCJ0A1
ethaddr=00:D0:B8:1D:28:22
serialNo=USAC0800F2
modelname=31997700
serialno=0,01y8ginglVn/jJnzwIGkcC8OCOrVeM7VKULur8RXbWBK/zdh8ZSju0lxIiqqFQmXFt,USAC0800F2,
runintime=10800
ftpserver=192.168.43.4
testfile=100M
mfgtest_state=system_tested_ok
pre_path=IX1/1.0.3/download_runin.sh
pre_path_conf=IX1/1.0.3/download_runin.conf
pre_serverip=192.168.32.4
pre_user=ixxrunin
pre_passwd=123
pre_dirzi=IX1/1.0.3
serverip=192.168.32.4
bootcmd=ide reset; ide read 0x40000 0x800 0x1800; ide read 0x900000 0x2000 0x2000; setenv bootargs $(console) $(bootargs_root) $(bootargs_mtd) $(bootargs_end); bootm 0x40000 0x900000;run bootcmd2
bootcmd2=ide dev 1;ide read 0x40000 0x800 0x1800; ide read 0x900000 0x2000 0x2000; bootm 0x40000 0x900000;
stdin=serial
stdout=serial
stderr=serial
mainlineLinux=no
enaMonExt=no
enaCpuStream=no
enaWrAllo=no
pexMode=RC
disL2Cache=no
setL2CacheWT=yes
disL2Prefetch=yes
enaICPref=yes
enaDCPref=yes
sata_dma_mode=yes
netbsd_en=no
vxworks_en=no
bootdelay=3
disaMvPnp=no
enaAutoRecovery=yes
pcieTune=no
pcieTune1=no

Environment size: 1977/4091 bytes

And the Help command...

I ran the resetenv hoping to have the device recognize the usb drive.. here are the commands I have now to use.


Marvell>> help
? - alias for 'help'
SatR - sample at reset sub-system, relevent for DB only
base - print or set address offset
boot - boot default, i.e., run 'bootcmd'
bootd - boot default, i.e., run 'bootcmd'
bootext2 dev:boot_part1,boot_part2 addr boot_image linux_dev_name
bootm - boot application image from memory
bootp - boot image via network using BootP/TFTP protocol
bubt - Burn an image on the Boot Flash.
chpart - change active partition
cmp - memory compare
cmpm - Compare Memory
cp - memory copy
cpumap - Display CPU memory mapping settings.
crc32 - checksum calculation
date - get/set/reset date & time
dclk - Display the MV device CLKs.
dhcp - invoke DHCP client to obtain IP/boot params
diskboot- boot from IDE device
echo - echo args to console
eeprom - EEPROM sub-system
erase - erase FLASH memory
ext2load- load binary file from a Ext2 filesystem
ext2ls - list files in a directory (default /)
fatinfo - print information about filesystem
fatload - load binary file from a dos filesystem
fatls - list files in a directory (default /)
fi - Find value in the memory.
flinfo - print FLASH memory information
fsinfo - print information about filesystems
fsload - load binary file from a filesystem image
g - start application at cached address 'addr'(default addr 0x40000)
go - start application at address 'addr'
help - print online help
icrc32 - checksum calculation
ide - IDE sub-system
iloop - infinite loop on address range
imd - i2c memory display
iminfo - print header information for application image
imm[.b, .s, .w, .l] - i2c memory modify (auto-incrementing)
imw - memory write (fill)
inm - memory modify (constant address)
iprobe - probe to discover valid I2C chip addresses
ir - reading and changing MV internal register values.
loop - infinite loop on address range
ls - list files in a directory (default /)
map - Diasplay address decode windows
md - memory display
me - PCI master enable
mm - memory modify (auto-incrementing)
mmcinit - init mmc card
mp - map PCI BAR
mtdparts- define flash/nand partitions
mtest - simple RAM test
mw - memory write (fill)
nm - memory modify (constant address)
pci - list and access PCI Configuration Space
phyRead - Read PCI-E Phy register
pciePhyWrite - Write PCI-E Phy register
phyRead - Read Phy register
phyWrite - Write Phy register
ping - send ICMP ECHO_REQUEST to network host
printenv- print environment variables
protect - enable or disable FLASH write protection
rarpboot- boot image via network using RARP/TFTP protocol
rcvr - Satrt recovery process (Distress Beacon with TFTP server)
reset - Perform RESET of the CPU
resetenv - Return all environment variable to default.
run - run commands in an environment variable
saveenv - save environment variables to persistent storage
se - PCI Slave enable
setenv - set environment variables
sflash - read, write or erase the external SPI Flash.
sg - scanning the PHYs status
sp - Scan PCI bus.
switchRegRead - Read switch register
switchRegWrite - Write switch register
Temp - read chip Tj temp
tftpboot- boot image via network using TFTP protocol
usb - USB sub-system
usbboot - boot from USB device
version - print monitor version

THANKS again for your help in pointing me in the right direction..

Mijzelf
Posts: 6196
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by Mijzelf » Sun Sep 04, 2016 7:04 pm

Hm. This is the actual boot command:

Code: Select all

bootcmd=ide reset; ide read 0x40000 0x800 0x1800; ide read 0x900000 0x2000 0x2000; setenv bootargs $(console) $(bootargs_root) $(bootargs_mtd) $(bootargs_end); bootm 0x40000 0x900000;run bootcmd2
Reset IDE (Sata) Respons in console: Reset IDE:
Marvell Serial ATA Adapter
Integrated Sata device found

Read from sector 0x800 hex 0x1800 hex bytes into memory address 0x40000. IDE device not available
Read from sector 0x2000 hex 0x2000 hex bytes info memory address 0x900000 IDE device not available
set the environment variable 'bootargs' (which is passed to the kernel) to the values of $(console) $(bootargs_root) $(bootargs_mtd) and $(bootargs_end).
Boot the modules in the addresses 0x40000 and 0x900000. (Where 0x40000 contains the kernel and 0x900000 the initrd) ## Booting image at 00040000 ...
Bad Magic Number

If that fails, run the command in bootcmd2, which does basically the same, but first selects the 2nd sata port. IDE device 1: not available

So if you have the same behaviour for several (known good) disks, and your power supply can juice the disk, there is something wrong with the Sata port. You can have a look if you damaged something at the connector, which might be repairable with some glue and sweat.
If not, well, theoretically you can boot the box from an usb disk (basically you only need to edit the bootcmd, exchange all 'ide' by 'usb', and connect the disk using an usb enclosure. But it will be slow.

newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 12:31 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by newbie » Sun Sep 04, 2016 11:37 pm

thank you fpr the help.

I think the sata 1 port is bad. on the board there is no sata 2 connector BUT there is a space to add one, I will buy a sata connector and soder it on the board and see what happens then.
If it doesn't work, then best thing is to have it boot to USB.
I will come back and let you know what happens after awhile. thank you for all your help.

Post Reply