How can i replace the HD

omarcvd
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by omarcvd » Sun May 05, 2013 11:52 pm

Tks!!!! sorry for my bad english (im from chile)

im going to probe all of this today !

:D

omarcvd
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by omarcvd » Mon May 06, 2013 3:01 am

worked! really worked! I copy the files as you mentioned and start with the stick. after a few minutes went off, remove the stick and start like new!

Thank you very much!

Mijzelf
Posts: 6199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by Mijzelf » Mon May 06, 2013 7:21 am

You're welcome. Did you also use the 'prepare_hd.zip'? If yes, how did you write it to disk?

omarcvd
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by omarcvd » Mon May 06, 2013 2:19 pm

Mijzelf wrote:You're welcome. Did you also use the 'prepare_hd.zip'? If yes, how did you write it to disk?
No, I use the command for linux

Code: Select all

sudo dd if = / path / to / zImage of = / dev / sdx bs = 512 seek = 2048
sudo dd if = / path / to / initrd of = / dev / sdx bs = 512 seek = 8192
and then start with the usb pendrive.

Thank you!

kgr1969
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:54 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by kgr1969 » Tue May 07, 2013 12:56 am

omarcvd wrote:
Mijzelf wrote:You're welcome. Did you also use the 'prepare_hd.zip'? If yes, how did you write it to disk?
No, I use the command for linux

Code: Select all

sudo dd if = / path / to / zImage of = / dev / sdx bs = 512 seek = 2048
sudo dd if = / path / to / initrd of = / dev / sdx bs = 512 seek = 8192
and then start with the usb pendrive.

Thank you!
Hello,
Could you please explain step by step what did you do and how you did...
Thank you.

omarcvd
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by omarcvd » Tue May 07, 2013 1:14 am

kgr1969 wrote:
omarcvd wrote:
Mijzelf wrote:You're welcome. Did you also use the 'prepare_hd.zip'? If yes, how did you write it to disk?
No, I use the command for linux

Code: Select all

sudo dd if = / path / to / zImage of = / dev / sdx bs = 512 seek = 2048
sudo dd if = / path / to / initrd of = / dev / sdx bs = 512 seek = 8192
and then start with the usb pendrive.

Thank you!
Hello,
Could you please explain step by step what did you do and how you did...
Thank you.

Code: Select all

Sure, the first thing I did was download EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, unpack directly into a usb pedrive.

Then files.tgz file that is within EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, unzip and copy zImage and initrd to my folder / home / root /

Then connect the drive with an adapter to the pc (ubuntu), leaving raw disk and performing these commands in console

sudo dd if=/home/root/zImage of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=2048
sudo dd if=/home/root/initrd of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=8192

after sending the message complete, remove the disk and connect to the NAS, with usb pendrive connected, turning on and wait!

After a few minutes of light exchange, this will turn off.

You must remove the USB flash drive and press the power button!

And that's it!

Attentive to your questions.
Original
Claro, lo primero que hice fue descargar EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, descomprimirlo directamente a un pedrive usb.

Luego, el archivo files.tgz que esta dentro de EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, descomprimirlo y copiar zImage y initrd a mi carpeta /home/root/

Luego conecte el disco con un adaptador al pc (ubuntu), dejandolo disco sin formato y realizando estos comandos en consola

Code: Select all

sudo dd if=/home/root/zImage of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=2048
sudo dd if=/home/root/initrd of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=8192
luego de enviar el mensaje completado, retirar el disco y conectarlo al NAS, con el pendrive usb conectado, encender y esperar!

Luego de unos minutos de intercambio de luces, este se apagará.

Debes retirar el pendrive usb y presionar el boton de encendido!

Y eso es todo!

Atento a tus dudas.

kgr1969
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:54 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by kgr1969 » Wed May 08, 2013 4:32 am

omarcvd wrote:
kgr1969 wrote:
omarcvd wrote:
Mijzelf wrote:You're welcome. Did you also use the 'prepare_hd.zip'? If yes, how did you write it to disk?
No, I use the command for linux

Code: Select all

sudo dd if = / path / to / zImage of = / dev / sdx bs = 512 seek = 2048
sudo dd if = / path / to / initrd of = / dev / sdx bs = 512 seek = 8192
and then start with the usb pendrive.

Thank you!
Hello,
Could you please explain step by step what did you do and how you did...
Thank you.

Code: Select all

Sure, the first thing I did was download EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, unpack directly into a usb pedrive.

Then files.tgz file that is within EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, unzip and copy zImage and initrd to my folder / home / root /

Then connect the drive with an adapter to the pc (ubuntu), leaving raw disk and performing these commands in console

sudo dd if=/home/root/zImage of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=2048
sudo dd if=/home/root/initrd of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=8192

after sending the message complete, remove the disk and connect to the NAS, with usb pendrive connected, turning on and wait!

After a few minutes of light exchange, this will turn off.

You must remove the USB flash drive and press the power button!

And that's it!

Attentive to your questions.
Original
Claro, lo primero que hice fue descargar EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, descomprimirlo directamente a un pedrive usb.

Luego, el archivo files.tgz que esta dentro de EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, descomprimirlo y copiar zImage y initrd a mi carpeta /home/root/

Luego conecte el disco con un adaptador al pc (ubuntu), dejandolo disco sin formato y realizando estos comandos en consola

Code: Select all

sudo dd if=/home/root/zImage of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=2048
sudo dd if=/home/root/initrd of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=8192
luego de enviar el mensaje completado, retirar el disco y conectarlo al NAS, con el pendrive usb conectado, encender y esperar!

Luego de unos minutos de intercambio de luces, este se apagará.

Debes retirar el pendrive usb y presionar el boton de encendido!

Y eso es todo!

Atento a tus dudas.

Hello,
Sorry for my misunderstanding, but I did not understand where did you create your own folder(unzip and copy zImage and initrd to my folder / home / root /)- on the same USB drive or somewhere on desktop. Secondary, I was using Linux terminal and use "sudo"commands, in both cases it says no directory found. Probably I did some thing wrong. Could you please correct me.

elmo22
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 1:58 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by elmo22 » Wed May 08, 2013 5:25 am

Hi...

Code: Select all

... copy zImage and initrd to my folder /home/root/

Then connect the drive with an adapter to the pc (ubuntu), leaving raw disk and performing these commands in console

sudo dd if=/home/root/zImage of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=2048
sudo dd if=/home/root/initrd of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=8192 
he did all that on a pc running Ubuntu (a very popular Linux Distro)...

what Linux are you using ?...

omarcvd
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by omarcvd » Wed May 08, 2013 2:08 pm

kgr1969 wrote:
omarcvd wrote:
kgr1969 wrote:
omarcvd wrote:
Mijzelf wrote:You're welcome. Did you also use the 'prepare_hd.zip'? If yes, how did you write it to disk?
No, I use the command for linux

Code: Select all

sudo dd if = / path / to / zImage of = / dev / sdx bs = 512 seek = 2048
sudo dd if = / path / to / initrd of = / dev / sdx bs = 512 seek = 8192
and then start with the usb pendrive.

Thank you!
Hello,
Could you please explain step by step what did you do and how you did...
Thank you.

Code: Select all

Sure, the first thing I did was download EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, unpack directly into a usb pedrive.

Then files.tgz file that is within EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, unzip and copy zImage and initrd to my folder / home / root /

Then connect the drive with an adapter to the pc (ubuntu), leaving raw disk and performing these commands in console

sudo dd if=/home/root/zImage of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=2048
sudo dd if=/home/root/initrd of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=8192

after sending the message complete, remove the disk and connect to the NAS, with usb pendrive connected, turning on and wait!

After a few minutes of light exchange, this will turn off.

You must remove the USB flash drive and press the power button!

And that's it!

Attentive to your questions.
Original
Claro, lo primero que hice fue descargar EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, descomprimirlo directamente a un pedrive usb.

Luego, el archivo files.tgz que esta dentro de EZMedia-recovery-4.0.2.9960.zip, descomprimirlo y copiar zImage y initrd a mi carpeta /home/root/

Luego conecte el disco con un adaptador al pc (ubuntu), dejandolo disco sin formato y realizando estos comandos en consola

Code: Select all

sudo dd if=/home/root/zImage of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=2048
sudo dd if=/home/root/initrd of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=8192
luego de enviar el mensaje completado, retirar el disco y conectarlo al NAS, con el pendrive usb conectado, encender y esperar!

Luego de unos minutos de intercambio de luces, este se apagará.

Debes retirar el pendrive usb y presionar el boton de encendido!

Y eso es todo!

Atento a tus dudas.

Hello,
Sorry for my misunderstanding, but I did not understand where did you create your own folder(unzip and copy zImage and initrd to my folder / home / root /)- on the same USB drive or somewhere on desktop. Secondary, I was using Linux terminal and use "sudo"commands, in both cases it says no directory found. Probably I did some thing wrong. Could you please correct me.
Cuando digo que copies a tu carpeta me refiero como seria en windows a "mis documentos" o a "descargas" es una carpeta que tu decides como temporal y dependiendo de ese lugar donde lo dejes, que en windows seria "c:/usuario/omarcvd/escritorio/" en ubuntu o linux seria "/home/omarcvd/" y esa ruta debes usar para copiar los archivos en el comando

Code: Select all

sudo dd if=/home/omarcvd/zImage of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=2048
sudo dd if=/home/omarcvd/initrd of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=8192
Se entiende ?

Saludos!

When I say copy I mean to your folder as you would have to do in windows to "My Documents" or "downloads" is a folder that you decide as temporary and depending on where you leave that place, that windows would be "c:/user/omarcvd/desktop/ "in ubuntu or linux would be" /home/omarcvd/ "and this route should use to copy the files on the command

Code: Select all

sudo dd if=/home/omarcvd/zImage of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=2048
sudo dd if=/home/omarcvd/initrd of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=8192
It is understood?

Greetings!

omarcvd
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by omarcvd » Wed May 08, 2013 2:13 pm

elmo22 wrote:Hi...

Code: Select all

... copy zImage and initrd to my folder /home/root/

Then connect the drive with an adapter to the pc (ubuntu), leaving raw disk and performing these commands in console

sudo dd if=/home/root/zImage of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=2048
sudo dd if=/home/root/initrd of=/dev/sdb bs=512 seek=8192 
he did all that on a pc running Ubuntu (a very popular Linux Distro)...

what Linux are you using ?...
Estimado, le puedo instalar en este dispositivo "debian"? o similar?
Y de ser asi, ¿como?

Dear, I can install on this device "debian"? or similar?
And if so, how?

kgr1969
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:54 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by kgr1969 » Thu May 09, 2013 2:34 am

THANK YOU VERY MUCH, EVERYONE!!!
EVERYTHIHG WORKS NOW!!! :D :D :D :D
Last edited by kgr1969 on Thu May 09, 2013 2:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

omarcvd
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:21 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by omarcvd » Thu May 09, 2013 2:38 am

kgr1969 wrote:THANK YOU VERY MUCH, EVERYBODY!!!
EVERYTHIHG WORKS NOW!!! :D :D :D :D
you're welcome

De nada.

elmo22
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 1:58 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by elmo22 » Thu May 09, 2013 3:32 am

congratulations kgr1969 !...

it is good to know that the procedure and the recovery file provided by Mijzelf have work one more time...

omarcvd:
I am also new to NAS and Linux, I don't know if it will be possible to install another Operating System in the iomega EZ NAS...

the ones with a better understanding of these systems are Mijzelf and seidler2547... let's hope they read your question and post their answer...

p.s. please don't call me "Dear"...
I understand that english is not your primary language and in spanish the word you used denotes respect but in english it is use mostly for loved ones...
just use the user's name instead...

celltech
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:36 pm

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by celltech » Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:56 pm

Just wanted to add my experience. I have 2x1Tb WD Green drive in a Win 8 Storage Space array. I just picked up a pair of 2Tb EZ Media drives with the plan on harvesting the drives out of them. They were cheaper then buying bare drives!

I thought I could slap the old 1Tb drives in the Iomega chassis and be good to go...ruh-roh. At that point I was wishing I had ripped an image of the Seagate first.

At any rate I found this site and did the previous steps. I tried to find a windows alternative for "dd" but in the end ran Ubuntu Live and put the 2 files on the drive. Then I turned on the Iomega with the USB stick in the back. It took maybe 10 minutes for all activity to stop. And it took another 10 minutes for the system to come up after power cycling. Everything is working fine.

I will keep my other 1Tb for a while until I am sure the new array is good for the long term. At that point I may try to clone the working Iomega drive over...any thoughts? Or I can do the Ubuntu dance again...

Thanks for making this software and process a reality!

Mijzelf
Posts: 6199
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: How can i replace the HD

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Jun 08, 2013 7:20 am

I don't think simply cloning will work, as the NAS needs some indispensable data blocks outside the partitioned space (The part you wrote with dd). Can be wrong, but AFAIK cloning programs don't care about this 'slack space'. You could do a binary copy using dd.

BTW, did you use the 'prepare_hd.zip', or the seperate blocks?

Post Reply