Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post Reply
shimbopper
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 2:52 am

Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post by shimbopper » Sun Jun 23, 2013 5:59 pm

After following the instructions line for line to get Transmission installed (extremely happy about it), I am now wondering if I can add the last piece to the puzzle by adding Plex Media Server to the EZ Media. I have an Apple TV 3 (non-jailbreakable), and because there's a hacky way to make ATV3 see the Plex, I'm eager to figure this out.

I tried installing FFP, but I couldn't get slacker to install Plex (and I figured a lot of the instructions at the beginning weren't relevant since I already had SSH up and running).

Is there a way to install with ipkg?

Sorry for the noob-question and bare request. I just have been hitting my head against a wall for several hours trying to get Plex somehow installed.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Jun 24, 2013 7:59 am

I tried installing FFP, but I couldn't get slacker to install Plex
Did FFP work? What did slacker do?

shimbopper
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 2:52 am

Re: Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post by shimbopper » Tue Jun 25, 2013 5:11 pm

I installed it through the LenovoEMC Application Manager. It seemed to work -- installed a directory in the root directory and had a bunch of files.

However, I didn't exactly follow the instructions word-for-word for FFP. Instead, I used the regular built-in SSH / root to get to the command prompt. When I typed in "slacker" it just told me "-sh slacker: command not found."

I found slacker within the ffp folder, and I went to it and ran it using "./ slacker" and tried following the instructions for installing FFP, but it kept giving me errors.

Then, even trying to use ipkg was giving me errors, so I uninstalled FFP and have been searching around for another way.

Do you think FFP will work better if I use the FFP-built-in telnet?

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Jun 25, 2013 7:17 pm

shimbopper wrote:Do you think FFP will work better if I use the FFP-built-in telnet?
It shouldn't matter. The FFP package patches /etc/passwd to change the shell for root and admin from /bin/sh to /ffp/bin/sh. This has as side effect that /ffp/etc/profile is called, which adds /ffp/bin and /ffp/sbin to the PATH.
The build in ssh and FFP telnet both read /etc/passwd, so it should work both.

But in your case slacker wasn't found, so I suppose somehow the PATH was wrong, and probably that means the patching of /etc/passwd failed. Running slacker by providing the absolute or relative path doesn't work, as slacker is not able to find it's tools.

Have a look at your /etc/passwd.

shimbopper
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 2:52 am

Re: Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post by shimbopper » Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:17 pm

Ok, for some reason, FFP decided to work perfectly this time. I installed it -- stayed out of SSH while it was downloading/installing, and then logged in a few minutes later. Slacker magically worked. I did the following

Code: Select all

root@me:/# slacker -UaA mz:plex

Code: Select all

root@me:/# chmod a+x /ffp/start/plexmediaserver.sh
root@me:/# /ffp/start/plexmediaserver.sh install
Installing Plex
--2013-06-25 16:10:10-- http://plex.r.worldssl.net/PlexMediaSer ... 6d-arm.spk
Resolving plex.r.worldssl.net... 69.65.41.240
Connecting to plex.r.worldssl.net|69.65.41.240|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 79332976 (76M) [application/octet-stream]
Saving to: `plexfile.gz'

100%[======================================>] 79,332,976 2.92M/s in 28s

2013-06-25 16:10:44 (2.73 MB/s) - `plexfile.gz' saved [79332976/79332976]

Synology package detected
Done
I'm following these instructions roughly, and I'll let you know when I get home later whether it works with my setup

viewtopic.php?f=249&t=7603

grafixd
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:56 pm

Re: Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post by grafixd » Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:58 pm

Wow, followed a few links and didn't think I did it right, but low and behold it worked very easily, Thanks!!!just found my new favorite forum. GOT TO LOVE IT, Plex working strong on my EZ

UPDATE,

well it worked for about an hour then my drive drops off the network and cant see it anymore until I power cycle it and then its back up for a short while...not sure what to do now.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post by Mijzelf » Sat Nov 23, 2013 10:56 am

Can you ping it? Can you telnet or ssh in?

grafixd
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:56 pm

Re: Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post by grafixd » Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:04 pm

when I cycle power on it, I have a window of like 5-10 minutes that it works fine, can access the plex web config page on it, can start a movie stream, can access network folders but after that it starts to act erratic and finally just slows to a crawl and times out on trying to connect

I can ping it, but when I tried to ssh in, the login just stood there for ever, It never said not able to connect, it just sat there.

I tried to stop plex but gave me error that it could not stop, something was wrong...

tried to uninstall it, it just said not able to something like permission denied..

I gave up and power cycled it, it gave me like 5 minutes to slooooowly make my way through the Lenovo Gui and hit the factory reset option, erased everything and started off clean, works now just fine, but don't think Im going to try putting Plex on it again, seemed to drag it down to the ground on processing power. maybe the 1T amount of videos I have on it? Or just not sure, maybe I did something wrong.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6197
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post by Mijzelf » Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:22 pm

I must admit that I have no actual experience with Plex. It might be that your 1TB of video's is a problem, I guess Plex does some indexing?

Another problem could be that the EZ just doesn't have enough memory. When I remember well it has only 128MB, while the ZyXEL boxes on which it all is developed and tested have 256-512MB. I can imagine that some daemons seem to be down when the box is heavily swapping.

YaSerg
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 7:37 am

Re: Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post by YaSerg » Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:06 am

I have NAS Iomega (Lenovo) IX2-200 with installed and working FFP, flex media server.

I want watch flex on Apple TV 3, but with the latest firmware you want to install PlexConnect and generate a certificate.

This command don't working on my NAS with FFP

Code: Select all

# Installation
git clone https://github.com/iBaa/PlexConnect.git
Please help me setup and generate a certificate and it.

Sorry for my bad english. :oops:

UPDATE:
1. I'm copied PlexConnect to /ffp/bin/PlexConnect
2. Install mz:Phyton

Then I try start it.:

Code: Select all

-sh: sudo: command not found
root@MyCloud:/ffp/bin/PlexConnect# sh ./PlexConnect.py
./PlexConnect.py: line 8: 
PlexConnect

Sources:
inter-process-communication (queue): http://pymotw.com/2/multiprocessing/communication.html
: No such file or directory
./PlexConnect.py: line 11: import: command not found
from: can't read /var/mail/os
./PlexConnect.py: line 13: import: command not found
from: can't read /var/mail/multiprocessing
from: can't read /var/mail/multiprocessing.managers
./PlexConnect.py: line 16: import: command not found
from: can't read /var/mail/Version
./PlexConnect.py: line 19: import: command not found
./PlexConnect.py: line 20: import: command not found
from: can't read /var/mail/PILBackgrounds
from: can't read /var/mail/Debug
./PlexConnect.py: line 26: syntax error near unexpected token `('
./PlexConnect.py: line 26: `def getIP_self():'

barmalej2
Posts: 2382
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Plex Media Server on EZ Media?

Post by barmalej2 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:01 am

Here are instructions step by step. If you are getting error or unexpected output on any step, then stop and report it.
Remove your copied plexconnect first:

Code: Select all

rm /ffp/bin/PlexConnect
Then install slapt-get package manager and upgrade core packages:

Code: Select all

[ -d /ffp/funpkg/cache/br2 ] || mkdir -p /ffp/funpkg/cache/br2
cd /ffp/funpkg/cache/br2
wget -nv http://downloads.zyxel.nas-central.org/Users/barmalej2/ffp/0.7/arm/packages/slapt-get-0.10.2t-arm-2.txz
funpkg -i slapt-get-0.10.2t-arm-2.txz
slapt-get -u
slapt-get --upgrade
Press y to confirm.
After upgrading restart sshd service:

Code: Select all

sh /ffp/start/sshd.sh restart
Install/upgrade git and python:

Code: Select all

slapt-get -i git python
Clone plexconnect to appropriate directory according to FHS rules:

Code: Select all

cd /ffp/var/lib
git clone https://github.com/iBaa/PlexConnect.git
cd PlexConnect/assets/certificates
Now generate certificates:

Code: Select all

openssl req -new -nodes -newkey rsa:2048 -out trailers.pem -keyout trailers.key -x509 -days 365 -subj "/C=US/CN=trailers.apple.com"
openssl x509 -in trailers.pem -outform der -out trailers.cer && cat trailers.key >> trailers.pem
Go back to main plexconnect dir:

Code: Select all

cd /ffp/var/lib/PlexConnect
Now edit Settings.py file and change the ports (80 and 443 most likely are used by box already):
('port_webserver' , ('8000', '[0-9]{1,5}')),
('port_ssl' , ('8443', '[0-9]{1,5}')),
Lastly start plexconnect service:

Code: Select all

python ./PlexConnect.py
To stop service press CTRL+C.

Post Reply