E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

woete
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:29 pm

E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by woete » Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:44 pm

Hi,

Several day's ago I bought the e-TRAYz nas from xtreamer
http://xtreamer.net/etrayz/features.aspx
hardware:
OXE810 cpu (ARM926EJ-S rev 5 (v5l) )
RAM: 128MB
2x SATA
1 USB 2.0
1 USB 1.1

Linux: 2.6.24 (the one with the ksoftirqd raid1 bug)
I found out via smallnetbuilder that several other vendors also have same cpu inside.

Thecus N0204
Thecus N2200
Iomega Home Media Network Hard Drive (only 64MB ram and only 1x SATA)
WD my book world edition (white bar, not blue!)(only 1 x SATA)
Buffalo linkstation quad (4 x SATA)

Could I install OS of those other vendors on my e-TRAYz, or any alternative OS?
(OS is installed on internal HDD, because only 8MB of onboard flash)
Because it's verry buggy at this time, and there are some bugs wich erase all data on internal HDD.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6205
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:34 pm

What is in flashrom, and what on disk?

woete
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:29 pm

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by woete » Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:39 pm

Don't know what is in flashrom (only 8MB)

Installation is from .exe on windows pc over network to etrayz IP.
OS is installed on internal harddisk.
it's 2GB ext2/3 partition for OS
512MB swap
and the rest on hdd is formatted as XFS

Mijzelf
Posts: 6205
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:52 pm

(only 8MB)
Don't underestimate that. I have a NAS here (Asus WL-HDD), with only 4MB flash, and yet it has Samba FTP NFS HTTP and (wireless) router functionality. The more well-known DNS-323 stores it's complete firmware in 8MB.

So I wouldn't be surprised if a complete Linux system is in flash, and only some goodies on disk.

woete
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:29 pm

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by woete » Tue Jan 05, 2010 8:26 pm

You're right.
In fact, I ran up Nas Lite 2 years ago, which fitted on a 1.44mb diskette.

How can I lookup what's on the flash memory?

I can login with rootacces & winscp to disk, and there I found all linux filesystem, so I suppose it's installed on harddisk?

And if linux is installed on flash, wouldn't all the other NAS systems (WD Iomega Thecus ...) with same cpu, have same linux system on flash, and just a different GUI installed on harddisk?

(In fact, I just thought about something: Can I use an installed hdd from WD or Iomega and just plug it in my etrayz to test if it works?)

User avatar
timtim
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 8:41 pm

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by timtim » Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:47 pm

Hi - its not as simple as that as this SoC can boot either from flash or directly off a hard disk. Plus other factors may cause it not to work.

I need to post the forum rules from the buffalo forum but discussion of and how to for installing vendor x firmware on vendor ys device is one of the few things we might moderate for various legal reasons. Sorry!!!

http://forum.buffalo.nas-central.org/vi ... f=4&t=2814
13. Do not discuss methods, nor ask for help, in either the wiki or forums, for installing proprietary software on devices for which you do not have a license for. An example of such, is asking to install the Linkstation Live software on the Linkstation Pro. Doing so seriously violates International Treaties, US and EU intellectual property laws, and other laws in other vicinities, and can place the nas-central.org community in jeopardy. Users in violation of this rule will be permanently banned from the forum, wiki, and IRC channel.

woete
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:29 pm

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by woete » Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:08 am

Ok I understand.

I just wanted to know if there is already an existing project with alternative firmware/OS for the other nas boxes I mentionned.

Something like NSLU2 for the linksys & Western Digital.
or foonas freelink genlink openlink?

The OXE810 is a relative new CPU, but used a lot in different NAS boxes,
so I supposed that if there is allready an alternative firmware development, or it would come in the future (or I could test OS from other vendor, oops not allowed to)

I don't know if you know the e-trayz, but system is really irritating buggy at the moment.
And a lot of promissed futures are non-existing.

Mijzelf
Posts: 6205
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:38 am

While it's illegal to discuss ways to put proprietary firmware on the box, it's legal to put Debian or another free distro on it. This can give you a perfect stable NAS.

Data in flash is often accessible via mtdblocks.
Have a look:
cat /proc/mtd

When linux is running from flash, there must be a filesystem on it. Maybe you can see that:
cat /proc/partitions
cat /proc/mounts

woete
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:29 pm

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by woete » Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:33 am

mtd

Code: Select all

dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 00400000 00010000 "physmap-flash.0"
partitions

Code: Select all

major minor  #blocks  name

   8     0  488386584 sda
   8     1    2000000 sda1
   8     2     500000 sda2
   8     3  485870942 sda3
  31     0       4096 mtdblock0
   9     0    1999936 md0
   9     1     499904 md1
mounts

Code: Select all

rootfs / rootfs rw 0 0
/dev/root / ext3 rw,noatime,nodiratime,data=ordered 0 0
/proc /proc proc rw 0 0
/sys /sys sysfs rw 0 0
/proc/bus/usb /proc/bus/usb usbfs rw 0 0
none /dev/pts devpts rw 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs rw 0 0
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs rw 0 0
/dev/sda3 /home xfs rw,noatime,nodiratime,prjquota 0 0
It looks to me that there is no flashrom mounted, but I'm only a windows user with allmost no linux knownledge

Mijzelf
Posts: 6205
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:56 am

I think you are right. The line
/dev/root / ext3 rw,noatime,nodiratime,data=ordered 0 0
says that the root has a ext3 fs, which should be *very* strange for a ro flash.

I suggest you to first try if your kernel is able to run Debian, by trying to chroot it:
First, on any debian computer, (I think a Ubuntu live CD will work, but I'm not sure)

Code: Select all

su
mkdir /tmp/debian
debootstrap --foreign --arch armel lenny /tmp/debian
cd /tmp/debian
tar cvzf ../debian.tar.gz *
This debian.tar.gz has to be moved to your NAS, in an empty directory. (Somewhere on the data partition is fine).
Then, on the NAS (the datapartition is in /home):

Code: Select all

cd /path/to/debian
su
tar xvzf debian.tar.gz
mount --bind /dev dev
mount --bind /proc proc
chroot . /debootstrap/debootstrap --second-stage
If this doesn't crash, your kernel is sufficient. You can open a Debian shell then:

Code: Select all

chroot . /bin/sh

User avatar
timtim
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 8:41 pm

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by timtim » Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:52 pm

Im looking to make a new kernel for my iomega home media which also has this SoC.

I have some kernel patches I found in openembedded for this or some other device that appears to have the SoC support in, I moved these to 2.6.24.7 from 2.6.24.4 I think. Didn't get around to cross compiling it yet though, hope to do that this week. Will be good to have more kernel modules available. After that I will have a look at setting up an OS on it.

Mine differs in that it boots from a hard disk (which it treats like a flash device - raw data partition at the beginning followed by linux partitions) which makes the procedure somewhat less risky. I'd prefer to have some flash though and a JTAG port.

Also I wonder how the SoC knows which device it needs to boot from. Unfortunately the documentation appears to be only available under NDA.

User avatar
timtim
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 8:41 pm

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by timtim » Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:56 pm

Oh yeah, and I put the kernel sources here....

http://downloads.iomega.nas-central.org ... /2.6.24.7/

Mijzelf
Posts: 6205
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by Mijzelf » Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:01 pm

Also I wonder how the SoC knows which device it needs to boot from.
Is there no flash at all? Not even a bootloader?

User avatar
timtim
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 8:41 pm

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by timtim » Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:07 pm

The raw partition on the hard disk has uboot at the beginning of it!

woete
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 4:29 pm

Re: E-trayz NAS (ARM cpu)

Post by woete » Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:11 pm

Mijzelf wrote:I think you are right. The line
...
tar xvzf debian.tar.gz
mount --bind /dev dev
mount --bind /proc proc
chroot . /debootstrap/debootstrap --second-stage[/code]If this doesn't crash, your kernel is sufficient. You can open a Debian shell then:

Code: Select all

chroot . /bin/sh
to be sure: If it crashes, I just reboot etrayz and it will work as before?

Post Reply