General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 8:41 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 1:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 1:34 pm
Posts: 3
I have a NSA 212 = STG212 = MEDION P8635=MD 86803

It only has one USB-port and I would hate to waste on just starting FFP.

I got it working by finding a place where /etc/init/rcS calls somehing on the harddisk..

  • I got root acces via telnet to the NSA using the web backdoor.
  • copied /zyxel/mnt/sysdisk/sysdisk.img to a linux computer (copy to /i-data/md0/admin/ and FTP from there)
  • loopmounted sysdisk.img on Linux computer: mkdir ns; mount -o loop sysdisk.img ns; cd ns
  • in sbin/chUrlPrefix.sh I added the line /zyxel/mnt/sysdisk/fun_plug
  • unmounted ns, copied sysdisk.img back to the nas in /zyxel/mnt/sysdisk/
  • installed ffp in /zyxel/mnt/sysdisk/ (I just used wget from the NAS)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 7:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6072
Does that survive a reboot? On a ZyXEL nas the sysdisk.img is compared to a checksum each boot, and if it doesn't fit, a fresh copy is extracted from flash.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2013 12:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 1:34 pm
Posts: 3
Mijzelf wrote:
Does that survive a reboot? On a ZyXEL nas the sysdisk.img is compared to a checksum each boot, and if it doesn't fit, a fresh copy is extracted from flash.



Yes, it does survive a reboot.
/etc/init.d/rcS does not do a checksum of sysdisk.img


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 1:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2015 1:48 pm
Posts: 1
elgaard wrote:
Mijzelf wrote:
Does that survive a reboot? On a ZyXEL nas the sysdisk.img is compared to a checksum each boot, and if it doesn't fit, a fresh copy is extracted from flash.



Yes, it does survive a reboot.
/etc/init.d/rcS does not do a checksum of sysdisk.img


Could you give the modified line?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6072
You can use MetaRepository to install FFP on harddisk.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group