General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:48 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 5:35 pm
Posts: 11
You need to download Clonezilla to install the image onto the first partition.

http://clonezilla.org/general-live-use.php


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:08 pm
Posts: 2
I have a iomega Storcenter 2x500GB (not ix2). I fall in a big problem: I don't have a image of Linux boot partition and I need to restore it.
HDD has two partitions, first of 2GB ext2 and second all disk up to 500GB.
Where I can find the image?
I'm very worried with my device.

Thanks in advance for your attention and time.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 4:51 pm
Posts: 1
Hi all, I'm new to this posts. Looking for help with Iomega storecenter 1Tx500Gb model number NHDD2M on the front panel it is mark as I2X
Both drives die. I replaced the drives.
Next I formatted drives with fdisk to one partition sdb1 to a little bigger then hummedan layout, marked it as fd type. Restored clonezilla image on both drives, connected drives back to the board and still have blinking blue light of death. Please any help or suggestions, appreciated.
P.S. What is interesting, after boot NAS replaced partitions on both drives with size 1020127 blocks and id 83


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 5:35 pm
Posts: 11
Hi there...

I have a few questions for you.

1. Did you only make 1 partition on each drive or did make all 3 that I listed in my previous post? The OS is looking for all 3 partitions. The sdb1 and sdb2 partitions must be set to the sizes I have listed and the sdb3 partition must begin at 9253440 but can be as large as the remaining blocks/sectors available on your drive.

2. Did you download and install the I2X partition image for clonezilla? There are two different images out there (I2X and non I2X).

3. Does your Storecent show up on in the manager software?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:36 pm
Posts: 1
Hi all!
i have the iomega storecenter network NAS (2x500 GB, not ix2) with the two disks died. I want only make the nas working with two new disks, i don't want rescue data.
I tried the solution given by hummedan some posts up, but with no luck.
Please can you tell me how you can make partitions with that exact block size???
and what kind of filesystem? should it be flagged as bootable?
Now, i made 3 partitions, all ext3, the first of about 4 gb marked as bootable and raid (i used GParted).
I restored the image downloaded from the link of the previous post with clonezilla (successfully).
I have two disks with this exact configuration, but if i mount one or both the disks on the nas motherboard, i get only a blinking blue light.
I tried the same two disks on another storecenter motherboard with no luck again.
Please, can i have a Step-by-Step suggestion about the partitioning of the disks, with the exact Linux commands ?

PLEASE!!PLEASE!! i lost the entire last week on this fu***ing NAS!!!
Thank you all!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:06 pm
Posts: 1
hello i have a big problem with my NHDD2M. blue flashing light, i finde it with the "iomega Discovery tool pro" but i can't connect.

in the last 2 weeks i have tried a lot of things, now i have found this her.

i have downloaded the image file (not ix2) that Mijzelf uploaded and I don't know exactly how you guys restored them to the HDD,
I tried Clonezilla to no avail. Clonzilla doesn't find any image in my folder.

Are you guys manually writing the images to the disk via dd because Clonezilla can't pick up an image from my USB drive.

Any help would be appreciated.

I'm a beginner with using Linux.

I need a Step-by-Step suggestion about the partitioning of the disks and how i can get the image on the HDD.

I hope some of you can help me.

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:21 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Haggisland
Blimey, I still get 'hits' from this topic, after all these years!
Looks like y'all forgot who gave you the prime partition, in the first place. :shock:

You need to read the wiki pages CAREFULLY: I'll quote one snippet.
Quote:
It appears that the disc is partitioned using GPT (GUID), rather than msdos. This can be selected using gparted, when creating a new partition table.


I didn't spoon feed on the wiki but the info. should all be there. I've moved onto a Buffalo unit (with easily accessible drives and speed controlled fan) but do miss the old compact Iomega.

RAID 0 should be disabled on ALL NAS devices - pointless! Those who insist on using it (through ignorance or otherwise) are sitting on a timebomb.

Safe backups.
EJ

[Note: time for me to remove the partition image from my webserver, as it has been mirrored for quite a while. Please use the nas-central link detailed in a previous post.]

_________________
http://ejsolutions.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 12:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 12:32 pm
Posts: 3
Hello,

I'm exactly in the same case than autourdupc, I need en image as I received my IX2 Storcenter (not 200) without any disk.

I would like to know if I can put 2x2 To Seagate Green 5900 t on RAID 0 inside ? I also have 2 500 Gb to begin safely ;)

Thanks for any help,

Fabrice


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 12:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:21 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Haggisland
Do people never read carefully?

Re-read my post at Fri Jul 08, 2011 11:11 pm
Clonezilla is not used - it is a bz2 image!!!

RAID 0 is a misnomer: it is not RAID at all - there is no redundancy.

Start with RAID 1, then when you have a running Storcenter, convert to RAID 0, if you must and don't care if you lose what you have stored on it when one of the HDD fails (as it will eventually)!

Is this clear enough?

_________________
http://ejsolutions.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:21 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Haggisland
Prestinox wrote:
.. IX2 Storcenter (not 200) ...

Wrong thread?
This thread relates to this box:
http://iomega.nas-central.org/wiki/Cate ... %281000%29

_________________
http://ejsolutions.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2014 1:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 12:32 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks, you're right, I'm not on the good one.

Bye, regards,

Fabrice


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 9:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 9:30 am
Posts: 36
Hello!

Have you sucessfully restored yours NHDD2M ?
Mine is with same problem, here is my topic:
viewtopic.php?f=297&t=17909&p=98733&hilit=nhdd2m#p98733

Thank YOu


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group