Iomga 150d HDD upgrade

Post Reply
ihavenoname
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 11:44 am

Iomga 150d HDD upgrade

Post by ihavenoname » Fri May 18, 2012 11:57 am

Afternoon all.

Some nebie advice for some Iomega veterans?

I hope someone can help me. I purchsed the above (iomega 150d) a few years ago, and have already upgraded the drives once to 1tb drives from the 500gb that came pre-installed. I used the recovery disc to get the OS onto the drives and it has worked perfectly for about two years or so now.

I have no space left on the NAS now and want to replace the drives with 4 x 3tb's.

Has anyone tried this or will the 3tb drive be too big? I do have a Terastation III Rackmount that i know will take the drives, buts noisy as hell, and the web interface is appaling!!!

Thanks for taking a look, Hopefully someone can help.

Karl

adenum
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:09 pm

Re: Iomga 150d HDD upgrade

Post by adenum » Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:13 pm

Hi Karl

I m trying to upgrade my iomega 150d build with 4x250 Tb drives

I directly went to 4x 3Tb

I should have try to recover with the cd with my original disks because I m not able to succeed with the 4x 3Tb

did your tests have been gracefull ?

David from France

Sga
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:23 pm

Re: Iomga 150d HDD upgrade

Post by Sga » Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:26 pm

Hi, anyone had any luck with this nas and drives >= 2 TB?

Corsari
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:00 am

Re: Iomga 150d HDD upgrade

Post by Corsari » Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:05 am

@ karldonteljameswoods:

Dear Karl can you kindly share

how did you do the upgrade from 500Gb to 1TB drives?

Using RAID 5 or RAID 0+1 ?

Anyway, if you have had a RAID 5 with (more or less) 3TB available space, thank you in advance if you kindly share the steps you have done to get it.

Thank you for sharing this info.

Cor

Recupero Dati NAS

rosboy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:46 am

Re: Iomga 150d HDD upgrade

Post by rosboy » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:50 am

Has anyone had any luck with this? I'd like to put in 4 x 4Tb drives.

Corsari
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:00 am

Re: Iomga 150d HDD upgrade

Post by Corsari » Tue Sep 24, 2013 12:13 pm

@rosboy:

Ciao!
Since nobody was replying, we have done it by ourself.

So we have expanded the RAM to 1GB

Fw is 85.85 and now it running with a RAID 5 made with 4 WD RED 2TB each for a total available space of something less of 6TB

Cor

rosboy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:46 am

Re: Iomga 150d HDD upgrade

Post by rosboy » Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:05 pm

Ciao Corsari!

Great work. I didn't realise the RAM was upgradeable (I only bought mine yesterday and am just exploring it). That's great.

Once you plugged in the hard drives, did they just work straight away, or was there any configuration to be done?

I've just upgraded my software to version 2.0.18.23122. Not sure which firmware this corresponds to. Do you know where I can find that?

Grazie tanto!

andyj
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:44 pm

Re: Iomga 150d HDD upgrade

Post by andyj » Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:49 pm

I know this is an old thread, but I was wondering how you got the 4x2tb to work. I had 4 extra WD 2tb enterprise drives, popped them in, but could never get the web utility to work, and the unit never showed up on the network. I thought about dropping them in one at a time until all 4 were working, and then doing a reformat. I currently have 4 750gb drives in the unit. It just doesn;t seem to work with the 2tb drives. Also, how did you upgrade the memory? Is there a dim socket in there somewhere?

Post Reply