General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:35 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Iomga 150d HDD upgrade
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 11:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 11:44 am
Posts: 1
Afternoon all.

Some nebie advice for some Iomega veterans?

I hope someone can help me. I purchsed the above (iomega 150d) a few years ago, and have already upgraded the drives once to 1tb drives from the 500gb that came pre-installed. I used the recovery disc to get the OS onto the drives and it has worked perfectly for about two years or so now.

I have no space left on the NAS now and want to replace the drives with 4 x 3tb's.

Has anyone tried this or will the 3tb drive be too big? I do have a Terastation III Rackmount that i know will take the drives, buts noisy as hell, and the web interface is appaling!!!

Thanks for taking a look, Hopefully someone can help.

Karl


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:09 pm
Posts: 1
Hi Karl

I m trying to upgrade my iomega 150d build with 4x250 Tb drives

I directly went to 4x 3Tb

I should have try to recover with the cd with my original disks because I m not able to succeed with the 4x 3Tb

did your tests have been gracefull ?

David from France


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:23 pm
Posts: 2
Hi, anyone had any luck with this nas and drives >= 2 TB?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:00 am
Posts: 4
@ karldonteljameswoods:

Dear Karl can you kindly share

how did you do the upgrade from 500Gb to 1TB drives?

Using RAID 5 or RAID 0+1 ?

Anyway, if you have had a RAID 5 with (more or less) 3TB available space, thank you in advance if you kindly share the steps you have done to get it.

Thank you for sharing this info.

Cor

Recupero Dati NAS


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:46 am
Posts: 2
Has anyone had any luck with this? I'd like to put in 4 x 4Tb drives.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 12:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 9:00 am
Posts: 4
@rosboy:

Ciao!
Since nobody was replying, we have done it by ourself.

So we have expanded the RAM to 1GB

Fw is 85.85 and now it running with a RAID 5 made with 4 WD RED 2TB each for a total available space of something less of 6TB

Cor


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:46 am
Posts: 2
Ciao Corsari!

Great work. I didn't realise the RAM was upgradeable (I only bought mine yesterday and am just exploring it). That's great.

Once you plugged in the hard drives, did they just work straight away, or was there any configuration to be done?

I've just upgraded my software to version 2.0.18.23122. Not sure which firmware this corresponds to. Do you know where I can find that?

Grazie tanto!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:44 pm
Posts: 2
I know this is an old thread, but I was wondering how you got the 4x2tb to work. I had 4 extra WD 2tb enterprise drives, popped them in, but could never get the web utility to work, and the unit never showed up on the network. I thought about dropping them in one at a time until all 4 were working, and then doing a reformat. I currently have 4 750gb drives in the unit. It just doesn;t seem to work with the 2tb drives. Also, how did you upgrade the memory? Is there a dim socket in there somewhere?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group