Install FileBot on QNAP tvs 471 - QTS 4.2.0

Post Reply
macdalor
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm

Install FileBot on QNAP tvs 471 - QTS 4.2.0

Post by macdalor » Sun Apr 17, 2016 3:15 pm

Hi all, I am trying to install FileBot on my Qnap TVS-471 (QTS 4.2.0) but after going through many forums/discussions I am still getting stuck and would really appreciate some help.

I understand I need to install via "IPKG" or "OPKG" and have installed "Entware" even though most forums chat about "Optware" apparently being deprecated now...
I also installed Python as mentioned in a few.

I've downloaded filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk* (being the file everyone advising installing) & filebot_4.6.1_noarch.ipk* (being the latest filebot version).
I guess I need to install the filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk* file given that my NAS is running on an Intel i3 proc.

I SSH fine to my NAS but when executing

Code: Select all

ipkg install filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk
I get

Code: Select all

-sh: ipkg: command not found
and when executing

Code: Select all

opkg install filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk
I get

Code: Select all

-sh: /opt/bin/opkg: cannot execute binary file
Posted in the Filebot forum and got replied:
1. Download the portable package (latest version)
2. Unzip
3. Run
While I appreciate getting a response, I am not sure how would that help given that this "portable package" contains an exe file which cannot (to my knowledge) be ran from QTS...

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Install FileBot on QNAP tvs 471 - QTS 4.2.0

Post by Mijzelf » Sun Apr 17, 2016 5:53 pm

macdalor wrote:I've downloaded filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk* (being the file everyone advising installing) & filebot_4.6.1_noarch.ipk* (being the latest filebot version).
I guess I need to install the filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk* file given that my NAS is running on an Intel i3 proc.
If your box run an i3 in normal cases you'll need i686 or amd64, depending on the OS, 32 or 64 bits.

But this is not a normal case. Filebot is written in Java, and so it might not matter. The 'noarch' package simply contains a FileBot.jar 'binary', and a startscript, which calls Java. So you need to have Java installed.

macdalor
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm

Re: Install FileBot on QNAP tvs 471 - QTS 4.2.0

Post by macdalor » Sun Apr 17, 2016 8:20 pm

Thank you Mijzelf, I do have JRE installed

Code: Select all

[~] # java -version
java version "1.8.0_65"
Java(TM) SE Embedded Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_65-b17, headless)
Java HotSpot(TM) Embedded Server VM (build 25.65-b01, mixed mode)
Anything else worth checking?

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Install FileBot on QNAP tvs 471 - QTS 4.2.0

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:52 am

You can extract the noarch.ipk (for instance 7zip can do that). It contains a Filebot.jar file, and a startscript filebot.sh. Change the script to meet your directories, with some luck it will Just Work.

macdalor
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm

Re: Install FileBot on QNAP tvs 471 - QTS 4.2.0

Post by macdalor » Mon Apr 18, 2016 6:27 pm

Mijzelf wrote:You can extract the noarch.ipk (for instance 7zip can do that). It contains a Filebot.jar file, and a startscript filebot.sh. Change the script to meet your directories, with some luck it will Just Work.
Sorry Mijzelf but would you be able to guide me through this at all? I mean with the script and all, I can manage extracting the files ;)

edit: all I have is a .tar file actually in this noarch.ipk...

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Install FileBot on QNAP tvs 471 - QTS 4.2.0

Post by Mijzelf » Mon Apr 18, 2016 7:57 pm

A .tar file is also an archive. Just open it.

Actually this ipk file is a gzipped tar file. So you now stripped the gzip.
macdalor wrote:would you be able to guide me through this at all? I mean with the script and all
Have a look at that script first. It's actually quite readable and short.

macdalor
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm

Re: Install FileBot on QNAP tvs 471 - QTS 4.2.0

Post by macdalor » Mon Apr 18, 2016 8:48 pm

Mijzelf wrote:Have a look at that script first. It's actually quite readable and short.
ok, what I understand I need to do (please confirm I got this right)

Code: Select all

if [ -z "$USER" ]
then
    export USER=`whoami`
replace "whoamI" by my NAS administrator user

Code: Select all

APP_ROOT="/opt/share/filebot"
point this to one of the created share instead of "filebot" or create one called "filebot"

correct? anything else?

macdalor
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm

Re: Install FileBot on QNAP tvs 471 - QTS 4.2.0

Post by macdalor » Mon Apr 18, 2016 9:39 pm

macdalor wrote:
Mijzelf wrote:Have a look at that script first. It's actually quite readable and short.
ok, what I understand I need to do (please confirm I got this right)

Code: Select all

if [ -z "$USER" ]
then
    export USER=`whoami`
replace "whoamI" by my NAS administrator user

Code: Select all

APP_ROOT="/opt/share/filebot"
point this to one of the created share instead of "filebot" or create one called "filebot"

correct? anything else?
ok, so that didn't work...

Mijzelf
Posts: 6224
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am

Re: Install FileBot on QNAP tvs 471 - QTS 4.2.0

Post by Mijzelf » Tue Apr 19, 2016 8:03 am

USER=`whoami` means set the environment variable to the output of the binary 'whoami'. Don't know if whoami is available on your box. You can test that. If not, you can set a line like 'export USER=user', without the backticks `` , else it will try to execute `user`.

The script has two variables

Code: Select all

APP_ROOT="/opt/share/filebot"
APP_DATA="$APP_ROOT/data/$USER"
APP_ROOT points to the directory where Filebot.jar is stored. APP_DATA points to the directory where you want to store your files. (Or where your files are stored? I don't know what filebot actually does)
ok, so that didn't work...
Some error message could be helpful.

Post Reply