General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:09 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 3:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
Hi all, I am trying to install FileBot on my Qnap TVS-471 (QTS 4.2.0) but after going through many forums/discussions I am still getting stuck and would really appreciate some help.

I understand I need to install via "IPKG" or "OPKG" and have installed "Entware" even though most forums chat about "Optware" apparently being deprecated now...
I also installed Python as mentioned in a few.

I've downloaded filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk* (being the file everyone advising installing) & filebot_4.6.1_noarch.ipk* (being the latest filebot version).
I guess I need to install the filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk* file given that my NAS is running on an Intel i3 proc.

I SSH fine to my NAS but when executing

Code:
ipkg install filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk
I get
Code:
-sh: ipkg: command not found


and when executing

Code:
opkg install filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk
I get
Code:
-sh: /opt/bin/opkg: cannot execute binary file


Posted in the Filebot forum and got replied:
Quote:
1. Download the portable package (latest version)
2. Unzip
3. Run


While I appreciate getting a response, I am not sure how would that help given that this "portable package" contains an exe file which cannot (to my knowledge) be ran from QTS...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6086
macdalor wrote:
I've downloaded filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk* (being the file everyone advising installing) & filebot_4.6.1_noarch.ipk* (being the latest filebot version).
I guess I need to install the filebot_4.5.3_i686.ipk* file given that my NAS is running on an Intel i3 proc.
If your box run an i3 in normal cases you'll need i686 or amd64, depending on the OS, 32 or 64 bits.

But this is not a normal case. Filebot is written in Java, and so it might not matter. The 'noarch' package simply contains a FileBot.jar 'binary', and a startscript, which calls Java. So you need to have Java installed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 8:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
Thank you Mijzelf, I do have JRE installed
Code:
[~] # java -version
java version "1.8.0_65"
Java(TM) SE Embedded Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_65-b17, headless)
Java HotSpot(TM) Embedded Server VM (build 25.65-b01, mixed mode)


Anything else worth checking?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 10:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6086
You can extract the noarch.ipk (for instance 7zip can do that). It contains a Filebot.jar file, and a startscript filebot.sh. Change the script to meet your directories, with some luck it will Just Work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 6:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
Mijzelf wrote:
You can extract the noarch.ipk (for instance 7zip can do that). It contains a Filebot.jar file, and a startscript filebot.sh. Change the script to meet your directories, with some luck it will Just Work.

Sorry Mijzelf but would you be able to guide me through this at all? I mean with the script and all, I can manage extracting the files ;)

edit: all I have is a .tar file actually in this noarch.ipk...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 7:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6086
A .tar file is also an archive. Just open it.

Actually this ipk file is a gzipped tar file. So you now stripped the gzip.

macdalor wrote:
would you be able to guide me through this at all? I mean with the script and all
Have a look at that script first. It's actually quite readable and short.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 8:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
Mijzelf wrote:
Have a look at that script first. It's actually quite readable and short.


ok, what I understand I need to do (please confirm I got this right)
Code:
if [ -z "$USER" ]
then
    export USER=`whoami`

replace "whoamI" by my NAS administrator user

Code:
APP_ROOT="/opt/share/filebot"

point this to one of the created share instead of "filebot" or create one called "filebot"

correct? anything else?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 9:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:50 pm
Posts: 88
macdalor wrote:
Mijzelf wrote:
Have a look at that script first. It's actually quite readable and short.


ok, what I understand I need to do (please confirm I got this right)
Code:
if [ -z "$USER" ]
then
    export USER=`whoami`

replace "whoamI" by my NAS administrator user

Code:
APP_ROOT="/opt/share/filebot"

point this to one of the created share instead of "filebot" or create one called "filebot"

correct? anything else?

ok, so that didn't work...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 8:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:45 am
Posts: 6086
USER=`whoami` means set the environment variable to the output of the binary 'whoami'. Don't know if whoami is available on your box. You can test that. If not, you can set a line like 'export USER=user', without the backticks `` , else it will try to execute `user`.

The script has two variables
Code:
APP_ROOT="/opt/share/filebot"
APP_DATA="$APP_ROOT/data/$USER"
APP_ROOT points to the directory where Filebot.jar is stored. APP_DATA points to the directory where you want to store your files. (Or where your files are stored? I don't know what filebot actually does)

Quote:
ok, so that didn't work...
Some error message could be helpful.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group