Upgrading NAS capacity without formatting, is it possibble?

Mindspeed Comcerto 2000 based
Post Reply
jagdtigger
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:02 am

Upgrading NAS capacity without formatting, is it possibble?

Post by jagdtigger » Sat Apr 16, 2016 5:42 pm

Greetings.

Im planning on buying 2 8TB drives and put them beside my current drives(2 4TB in raid1). I want to upgrade this to a raid10. Can it be done without wiping the data from the existing raid array?
Zyxel NSA325 [4.81(AAAJ.1) + Metarepo]
Zyxel NAS540 [V5.20(AATB.0) + Metarepo]
Synology DS416

casati
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 10:21 am

Re: Upgrading NAS capacity without formatting, is it possibb

Post by casati » Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:51 pm

No, you can't.

To choose RAID10 is only possible during the initial setup. Was there, done that.

It's a pity, I know. Especially because it is NOT mentioned in a prominent way in the manual.

Best regards
325v2 RAID 1, 2xWDEZEX-75M2NA0 1 TB, v4.80(AALS.1), MetaR
540 RAID 10, 4xWDEZEX-00BN5A0 1TB, v5.11(AATB.2), MetaR
MEDION P89626 ST1500DL003-9VT1 1.5 TB, v1.01(UZD.0)_20120203, MetaR
Clients mit Ubuntu 14.04, 12.04 LTS / WIN 7 / XP

jagdtigger
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:02 am

Re: Upgrading NAS capacity without formatting, is it possibb

Post by jagdtigger » Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:16 am

Great... :( If i have to do a complete wipe i better collect some more cash and buy 4 of the 8 TB HDD's.

Thanks for the info.
Zyxel NSA325 [4.81(AAAJ.1) + Metarepo]
Zyxel NAS540 [V5.20(AATB.0) + Metarepo]
Synology DS416

Post Reply