Transmission problem

Marvell Kirkwood based
Post Reply
m3cab
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 am

Transmission problem

Post by m3cab » Tue May 15, 2012 4:23 am

sh-4.1# /ffp/start/transmission.sh status
transmission-daemon is running

sh-4.1# /ffp/start/transmission.sh start
mkdir: cannot create directory `/mnt/HD/HD_a2/.transmission-daemon': No such file or directory
Starting transmission-daemon
Couldn't open "/mnt/HD/HD_a2/.transmission-daemon/transmission-daemon.log": No such file or directory
sh-4.1#

It was running fine, then i had to turn the nas off, when i turned it on,i could not connect, so i tried the above commands.

Transmission remote GUI states 403 Forbidden, unauthorized ip address,etc........

Transmission 2.51arm 2, ffp 0.7 fw 4.4

Please help!!

barmalej2
Posts: 2387
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Transmission problem

Post by barmalej2 » Tue May 15, 2012 5:16 am

m3cab wrote:sh-4.1# /ffp/start/transmission.sh status
transmission-daemon is running

sh-4.1# /ffp/start/transmission.sh start
mkdir: cannot create directory `/mnt/HD/HD_a2/.transmission-daemon': No such file or directory
Starting transmission-daemon
Couldn't open "/mnt/HD/HD_a2/.transmission-daemon/transmission-daemon.log": No such file or directory
sh-4.1#

It was running fine, then i had to turn the nas off, when i turned it on,i could not connect, so i tried the above commands.

Transmission remote GUI states 403 Forbidden, unauthorized ip address,etc........

Transmission 2.51arm 2, ffp 0.7 fw 4.4

Please help!!
As I already said to you, first start require configuration. There is no such directory tree on your NAS- /mnt/HD/HD_a2/.transmission-daemon, that is why you are getting this error. In your case analog is /i-data/md0/.transmission-daemon. And it is not the only thing that you must change. I'm not at home now, so if you wait untill tomorrow evening, maybe i will find some time to help you later. Can you put here content of your transmission.sh file?
And the second question: what is Operating System of computer from which you are controlling (connecting to) NAS?

m3cab
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 am

Re: Transmission problem

Post by m3cab » Tue May 15, 2012 1:01 pm

i'm using windows xp .
Heres the start.sh:


#!/ffp/bin/sh

# PROVIDE: Transmission

. /ffp/etc/ffp.subr

TRANSMISSION_HOME=/mnt/HD/HD_a2/.transmission-daemon

name="transmission-daemon"
command="/ffp/bin/$name"
start_cmd="transmission_start"
stop_cmd="transmission_stop"
status_cmd="transmission_status"
user=nobody
su_cmd="/ffp/bin/su"

transmission_start()
{
if [ ! -d ${TRANSMISSION_HOME} ]; then
$su_cmd $user -c "mkdir ${TRANSMISSION_HOME}"
fi
echo "Starting $name"
$su_cmd $user -c "$command -g ${TRANSMISSION_HOME} -e ${TRANSMISSION_HOME}/$name.log"
}

transmission_stop()
{
echo "Stopping $name"
/ffp/bin/killall -SIGINT $name
}

transmission_status()
{
_pids=$(pidof $name)
if test -n "$_pids"; then
echo "$name is running"
else
echo "$name not running"
fi
}

run_rc_command "$1"

barmalej2
Posts: 2387
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Transmission problem

Post by barmalej2 » Wed May 16, 2012 8:48 am

1. Transmission can be running even with errors so stop it:

Code: Select all

killall transmission-daemon

2. Go to :

Code: Select all

cd /ffp/start
and edit following lines of transmission.sh:
TRANSMISSION_HOME=/i-data/md0/transmission
user=root

3. Then try to start transmission daemon via sh:

Code: Select all

/ffp/start/transmission.sh start
This should create new directory transmission in root of your HDD.
4. And stop transmission daemon again:

Code: Select all

/ffp/start/transmission.sh stop
5. Go to

Code: Select all

cd /i-data/md0/transmission
and edit settings.json file:
"download-dir": "/i-data/md0/public", -points to HDD root directory public (built-in Zyxel NSA 310)
"incomplete-dir": "/i-data/md0/public", -just in case, but don't enable it
"lpd-enabled": true, -local peers discovery
"rpc-whitelist": "127.0.0.1,192.168.0.*", -add local-LAN (not wan ip in any case) ip address of your computer from which you are connecting to NSA or specify local subnet as I did.
"trash-original-torrent-files": true,
"umask": 0, -will give you access to downloaded files via LAN

6.Start transmission daemon:

Code: Select all

/ffp/start/transmission.sh start
That's is all. But........
I didn't found some settings in settings.json file of this revision transmission like :
•watch-dir: String
•watch-dir-enabled: Boolean (default = false)

This not good. But....
If you follow my further instructions we can resolve this a little problem. I found out that there is a windows client program, that can control minidlna-daemon remotly from your computer. It has simple intuitive interface and gives you some benefits like:
informs about finished download,
automatically opens for download internet torrent file on click to open,
can minimize to tray,
you can exit program, but transmission continious to download and seed,
has better interface,
there is no need of watch directory for transmission.
The program is called Transmission Remote GUI.
As they say : it is a feature rich cross platform front-end to remotely control a Transmission Bit-Torrent client daemon via its RPC protocol. Transmission Remote GUI is faster and has more functionality than the built-in Transmission web interface.

Code: Select all

http://code.google.com/p/transmisson-remote-gui/
Just download transgui-4.0.3-setup.exe and install on your computer. Configuration is very simple but needed and one more benefit is that program reads transmission settings from your NAS.
Last edited by barmalej2 on Wed May 16, 2012 4:58 pm, edited 3 times in total.

m3cab
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 am

Re: Transmission problem

Post by m3cab » Wed May 16, 2012 4:34 pm

ok thanks

m3cab
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 am

Re: Transmission problem

Post by m3cab » Wed May 16, 2012 5:02 pm

i've changed some settings in json file, is this correct?

"alt-speed-down": 50,
"alt-speed-enabled": false,
"alt-speed-time-begin": 540,
"alt-speed-time-day": 127,
"alt-speed-time-enabled": false,
"alt-speed-time-end": 1020,
"alt-speed-up": 50,
"bind-address-ipv4": "0.0.0.0",
"bind-address-ipv6": "::",
"blocklist-enabled": false,
"blocklist-url": "http://www.example.com/blocklist",
"cache-size-mb": 2,
"dht-enabled": true,
"download-dir": "//mnt/HD_a2/video",
"download-queue-enabled": true,
"download-queue-size": 5,
"encryption": 0,
"idle-seeding-limit": 30,
"idle-seeding-limit-enabled": false,
"incomplete-dir": "/mnt/HD_a2/admin/transmission/incomplete",
"incomplete-dir-enabled": true,
"lpd-enabled": false,
"message-level": 2,
"peer-congestion-algorithm": "",
"peer-limit-global": 240,
"peer-limit-per-torrent": 60,
"peer-port": 51413,
"peer-port-random-high": 65535,
"peer-port-random-low": 49152,
"peer-port-random-on-start": false,
"peer-socket-tos": "default",
"pex-enabled": true,
"port-forwarding-enabled": true,
"preallocation": 1,
"prefetch-enabled": 0,
"queue-stalled-enabled": true,
"queue-stalled-minutes": 30,
"ratio-limit": 2,
"ratio-limit-enabled": false,
"rename-partial-files": true,
"rpc-authentication-required": false,
"rpc-bind-address": "0.0.0.0",
"rpc-enabled": true,
"rpc-password": "{504bd92e4360704d6ed2a8848b95a9bc33acca81phs.lrqY",
"rpc-port": 9091,
"rpc-url": "/transmission/",
"rpc-username": "",
"rpc-whitelist": "127.0.0.1",
"rpc-whitelist-enabled": true,
"scrape-paused-torrents-enabled": true,
"script-torrent-done-enabled": false,
"script-torrent-done-filename": "",
"seed-queue-enabled": false,
"seed-queue-size": 10,
"speed-limit-down": 100,
"speed-limit-down-enabled": false,
"speed-limit-up": 100,
"speed-limit-up-enabled": false,
"start-added-torrents": true,
"trash-original-torrent-files": false,
"umask": 0,
"upload-slots-per-torrent": 14,
"utp-enabled": true

barmalej2
Posts: 2387
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Transmission problem

Post by barmalej2 » Wed May 16, 2012 5:54 pm

No it is not. If you also have NSA 310, there is no such directory //mnt/HD_a2/video and you can't download to it (Edited: my mistake. It is symlink /mnt/HD_a2/ to /etc/zyxel/storage/sysvol , so you can use /mnt/HD_a2/video). Analog is /i-data/md0/, which is symlinked to /etc/zyxel/storage/sysvol also.

Secondly i don't think that using incomplete directory is usefull to your disk. It courses to write same file from one place to onother in the same HDD. So I'm suggesting to you:
"download-dir":"/i-data/md0/video", (this folder minidlna searches for new files, if you configured according to mine minidlna guide)
"incomplete-dir-enabled":false, (transmission also gives .part to the end of file, so downloading video and other files will not mix with normal video and other files .
"lpd-enabled":true, (may increase download speed in some scenarios)
"rpc-whitelist":"127.0.0.1,192.168.0.*", (adding ip will give you some security, but you can ignore this)
"trash-original-torrent-files":true (no need of trash, transmission already makes copies of torrents files to /i-data/md0/transmission/torrents
Last edited by barmalej2 on Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:56 am, edited 5 times in total.

m3cab
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 am

Re: Transmission problem

Post by m3cab » Wed May 16, 2012 6:15 pm

If there is no incomplete folder, where does the partially downloaded files go? Say if I had to turn off for whatever reason in the middle of a download then when I restart, I'll have to start from beginning ?

m3cab
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 am

Re: Transmission problem

Post by m3cab » Wed May 16, 2012 6:17 pm

Oh....I see just read again, one folder for completed and incomplete?

barmalej2
Posts: 2387
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Transmission problem

Post by barmalej2 » Wed May 16, 2012 6:27 pm

m3cab wrote:Oh....I see just read again, one folder for completed and incomplete?
Yes and all will be ok. Resume is supported, no restarts.
If there is no incomplete folder, where does the partially downloaded files go? Say if I had to turn off for whatever reason in the middle of a download then when I restart, I'll have to start from beginning ?
Incomplete folder has no effect on that. It's jus a separate place from completed files. Transmission saves data about file download progress and other info in settings folder.

barmalej2
Posts: 2387
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Transmission problem

Post by barmalej2 » Wed May 16, 2012 6:52 pm

Noticed one not good thing-when downloading transmission eats NAS CPU 100 percent. After download CPU is idle 0 and everything is ok.
Last edited by barmalej2 on Wed May 16, 2012 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

m3cab
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 am

Re: Transmission problem

Post by m3cab » Wed May 16, 2012 6:58 pm

barmalej2 wrote:Noticed one not good thing-then downloading
Don't quite understand unless it's a typo then = when?

barmalej2
Posts: 2387
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Transmission problem

Post by barmalej2 » Wed May 16, 2012 7:03 pm

m3cab wrote:
barmalej2 wrote:Noticed one not good thing-then downloading
Don't quite understand unless it's a typo then = when?
Yes, its a grammatical mistake

m3cab
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:03 am

Re: Transmission problem

Post by m3cab » Wed May 16, 2012 8:52 pm

barmalej2 wrote: "rpc-whitelist": "127.0.0.1,192.168.0.*", -add local-LAN (not wan ip in any case) ip address of your computer from which you are connecting to NSA or specify local subnet as I did.
is this the ip address at the bottom left of Transmission Remote GUI, PuTTY host and address where your router assigns the NSA 310?

barmalej2
Posts: 2387
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Transmission problem

Post by barmalej2 » Thu May 17, 2012 5:23 am

m3cab wrote:
barmalej2 wrote: "rpc-whitelist": "127.0.0.1,192.168.0.*", -add local-LAN (not wan ip in any case) ip address of your computer from which you are connecting to NSA or specify local subnet as I did.
is this the ip address at the bottom left of Transmission Remote GUI, PuTTY host and address where your router assigns the NSA 310?
These IP addresses specify from where you can connect to transmission. 127.0.0.1 -it's like myself. Such a "virtual" IP has every computer, nas and etc. For example: if you type in windows explorer \\127.0.0.1 , it will opens your computer shares. 192.168.0.* -means all your local home network (LAN) ip addresses from 192.168.0.1 until 192.168.0.255 Typically these IP are assigned by DHCP server running on router to clients: your computer running windows, NAS, TV, mobile and etc., if they configured to get IP automatically. So, I gave permission to connect to transmission only to my home LAN devices. You can specify the only one computer to have access to your NAS transmission. Also IP can be a little bit different:192.168.1.*, 192.168.2.* , but in most cases it starts with 192.168. To check you can type at command prompt in windows XP: ipconfig

Post Reply