change the OS on readynas DUO

The Netgear NAS forum
Post Reply
emilc
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:32 pm

change the OS on readynas DUO

Post by emilc » Sat Sep 14, 2013 6:56 am

Hi,

is it possible to run another OS instead of the RAIDiator 4.1.x, because im so tired of that i/we have to pay for the addons.
yes i know that the addon are make/compile by forum members, but again. it would be much easier to just run and OS (debian or ubuntu) and make an apt-get 'app-name'

make to my question :)
is it possible to hack or tweak the box to run ubuntu or debian (or any other LINUX/UNIX OS)?

BMX
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 6:18 am

Re: change the OS on readynas DUO

Post by BMX » Sat Sep 21, 2013 7:23 am

No

You can run another OS on the Duo v2 but not the v1.

ademturk
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: change the OS on readynas DUO

Post by ademturk » Sat Oct 25, 2014 4:00 pm

emilc wrote:Hi,

is it possible to run another OS instead of the RAIDiator 4.1.x, because im so tired of that i/we have to pay for the addons.
yes i know that the addon are make/compile by forum members, but again. it would be much easier to just run and OS (debian or ubuntu) and make an apt-get 'app-name'

make to my question :)
is it possible to hack or tweak the box to run ubuntu or debian (or any other LINUX/UNIX OS)?
how about arch linux

Post Reply