General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:18 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 1:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:11 am
Posts: 20
Hi,

Based on OpenMediaVault on the Home Media CE, I'd success installed Debian and ArchLinuxARM on my Iomega HMNHDCD.

At first, thank you, seidler2547.

I'd upload all files to https://github.com/olderzeus/Iomega-HMNHDCE, Inclued howto.
Now, you can also download it from: http://downloads.iomega.nas-central.org/Users/olderzeus/

Regards

.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: introduction
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2012 2:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:11 am
Posts: 20
Debian & ArchLinuxARM on Iomega® Home Media Network Hard Drive, Cloud Edition

Introduction

This system contains the follow files:


FileName MD5 checksums:
BootSectors.tgz ca7dba02fa4cfdbaa9266628b8119ef8
Debian.tgz 67641b5877e7bd42b2541c50493e58e3
ArchLinuxARM.tgz 319cbac0f3a1958fdf234999f98e32f7

FileName SHA1 checksums:
BootSectors.tgz 52129bf3f981456642fba0b951ebb71f2a58d886
Debian.tgz 30410f4fd576dd62657d5b33790617da1a626945
ArchLinuxARM.tgz 1f2e4a0bcf382f40f3833ddea8cd3e8a573efdc7

FileName CRC32 checksums:
BootSectors.tgz 3f8ac4a4
Debian.tgz 5e234104
ArchLinuxARM.tgz 843c93d0

FileName SHA-256 checksums:
BootSectors.tgz 9b7f0c6e11e5f9def9a0f3ddbc53b2701ac83ca508212a7e7ec9b5570b189b9e
Debian.tgz 802727423a88d5f89b655906adb3209c7af5aa674fdf85178b7257fc2322ae81
ArchLinuxARM.tgz d031f41960bd7b796326889e3511ff0fe1f4b06a5c0baed91690b287bc5d4fc6

FileName SHA-512 checksums:
BootSectors.tgz ea61ed875ba11f95aa02bae90eb916f77a5c97b33aedf640e29f7d2ee5df2ef7cd03afb39c79e12ebd705c8b7db46e53ac5f09fcb6509d89f38075561a8ec9b5
Debian.tgz cc214452d5688d83be5fa3d2f22ce28d6eaefaee32fb0388f00df5fc2c3208375c29a58c786d0f56aac4e45cc0518d5c67a7c89e07463b187aa42db5c19a9a12
ArchLinuxARM.tgz 67a6400c0da574a7778805e3a8f54accb16e1780ba647ac1039db81dd7ef846ba85fafba9272bcb85a189896c42a46969ac2f9d45cacb4d8a84f7b33d4646c8d

FileName SHA-384 checksums:
BootSectors.tgz 1919ce57c9cb90fd4700106979bf80378e8350e8a9e5f7c04618e9defbd60cc0e563e2a3022d1a4f5c811b95de2d7dbc
Debian.tgz 918943c9fd9add26320d7eb61ef0a8a012ae7c05ff882268ab643983a9c99182f18250e54e85758b1935d2106d8e1d69
ArchLinuxARM.tgz b67a5d6fd89420b2d96479de3d40c4de237c53f10e16a8d2e455b08bfe573059ac04bca671b6b0abd03834b89b4818db


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 3:08 pm
Posts: 21
Hi, great job.
I'll give it a try when i have some time, and will tell you how it goes.
Just a question, why did you add omnius repository of openmediavault instead of fedaykin?. any problem with the last version?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:11 am
Posts: 20
OpenMediaVault fedaykin (0.4.x) depent on xmlstarlet (>= 1.3.1) in debian wheezy (testing) or sid (unstable), not in packages of debian squeeze (stable) .

more info:

http://packages.debian.org/search?keywords=xmlstarlet

http://packages.openmediavault.org/publ ... l/Packages


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 3:08 pm
Posts: 21
ok, Thank you.
another question. Is it possible to use ext4?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:11 am
Posts: 20
Refer to:

viewtopic.php?f=269&t=6277&start=45#p29161

Quote:
OMV is based on a simple Debian squeeze which is installed onto md0. So you can use it like a Debian install on a noormal PC, including apt-get and aptitude and everything else (although there might be some issues with some packages that have not been thoroughly tested on ARM).

I write ext3 because in the Pogoplug forum someone said that the ext4 support in this kernel is not quite finalized and better be avoided. I have used it myself already though, but only a little bit for testing.

Stefan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:54 pm
Posts: 13
hi

I have a PHILIPS tv and most of video format are not recognized. I belive that openVault can me a solution by trascoding the video before sending it. but before start I will like to find out if I am rigth.

Also I have worked with linus but I am not an expert in LINUX. do I need to be an expert???

thanks

mamdou


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 8:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 3:08 pm
Posts: 21
Hi, i tried to install debian and openmediavault this weekend, and if you just do what it says everything will go ok.
Don't know if this will help you, but i installed tvmobili on my hmnhd (with iomega original system), and it works fin with me (my tv is samsung) i can reproduce mkv, avi etc even with srt subtitles.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 8:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 3:08 pm
Posts: 21
Now a little problem. I might made something wrong, but when i try to change the net configuration i lost access to the hard drive.
I tried it in two different ways, one through the webinterface of OMV, as soon as i reboot the access was impossible.
The second way was through console i type
ifconfig eth0 192.168.X.X gateway 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.x.y
and then the access was impossible.
am i doing something wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 9:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:11 am
Posts: 20
jaimealm wrote:
Now a little problem. I might made something wrong, but when i try to change the net configuration i lost access to the hard drive.
I tried it in two different ways, one through the webinterface of OMV, as soon as i reboot the access was impossible.
The second way was through console i type
ifconfig eth0 192.168.X.X gateway 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.x.y
and then the access was impossible.
am i doing something wrong?


After net configuration through the webinterface of OMV, /etc/network/interfaces will lost some network interface configuration information, you need add some losed info to this file manually.

Code:
# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
    pre-up ifconfig eth0 up ; ifconfig eth0 down
    post-down rmmod gmac


Attention: pre-up and post-down segment.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:07 am
Posts: 41
Location: Mataró - Barcelona - Spain
If I can use the HMNHD ArchLinux is fantastic. Well, I am a user of Arch in a desktop PC.

Is there no Arch installation manual for Iomega disk??


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:53 am
Posts: 32
Inoxidable wrote:
If I can use the HMNHD ArchLinux is fantastic. Well, I am a user of Arch in a desktop PC.

Is there no Arch installation manual for Iomega disk??


The installation manual is in the links. Just go to http://downloads.iomega.nas-central.org ... olderzeus/
and then download and read the file called "Install Debian & ArchLinuxARM on a empty hard drive for Iomega HMNHDCE.txt".

It has instructions how to install either Debian or Arch Linux.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 3:43 pm
Posts: 3
Many thanks to olderzeus for posting the debian tarball and instructions.
It was very easy to follow the guide to install debian on the hmnhd-ce.
Now I have a NAS similar to Freelink on the old Buffalo Linkstation!
Also noticed that the performance of the NAS is much faster without all the Iomega bloat-ware.
USB disk transfer speeds are 2-3 times faster.
Now to install AVAHI and CUPS to complete the NAS...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:29 pm
Posts: 7
I've succcessfully installed debian to my HMNDCE. Everythings fine. But i think there are something unstable; when i plug device into electricity, it doesnt boot debian. ı cannot connect device via ssh or even via webmin But press power button once to restart, it restarts and boot debian.
How can we fix this?

(excuse me for bad english :) )

Sezer.

edit: and also i tried to install open media vault manually onto debian, but it gave an error about Arm CPus. Any fix for that?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 8:08 pm
Posts: 9
deanodley wrote:
Also noticed that the performance of the NAS is much faster without all the Iomega bloat-ware.
USB disk transfer speeds are 2-3 times faster.

After installing OpenMediaVault some people observed that the SMB perfomance is just 50% compared to the original firmware (i.e. 25 MB/s instead 50 MB/s reading, 15 MB/s instead 30 MB/s writing). What is your experience with SMB performance?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group