General NAS-Central Forums

Welcome to the NAS community
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:50 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2015 9:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:47 pm
Posts: 5
Hi Guys,

First, thanx for the great guide, how to install firmware on fresh disks lacie 2 big network 2. If it wasnt for this I would have thrown the machine away. So again thanx.

Here is my problem, I really hope someone can help me with it. Thanx in advance.
I got everything up and running. I can acces through the web interface etc, but when it comes to updating... Nothing. I am stuck at version 1.3.6 the one i downloaded from the forum and came with the tutorial. I tried updating with LNA and the webinterface but it wont work. My best guess is i have done something wrong in the partition table.

I follewed the instructions in the tutorial on how to add the firmware on fresh disks. I did it on two wd hdd's one 160gb and the other 640gb. As the tutorial said i kept sdb2 on both partition tables the same 140gb.
This is what it looks like:

Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders, total 312581808 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000f26c1

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 63 4016249 2008093+ 5 Extended
/dev/sdb2 4016250 297617529 146800640 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb5 126 514079 256977 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb6 516128 532129 8001 83 Linux
/dev/sdb7 534178 550179 8001 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb8 552228 2255054 851413+ fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb9 2257103 4008124 875511 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb10 4010173 4016249 3038+ 83 Linux

The first thing that went wrong is when i did the :
gzip -dc /full/path/to/mbr+label.gz | sudo dd of=/dev/sdb
The tutorial states that sdb1 starts at 1 and ends at 250... But after the above command it automatically creates start 63 end 4016249.
The rest of the partitions i was able to create, dont ask how i probably did it wrong. But the last one sdb10 I didnt have any space left.... So I was only able to create 3038 block.

My gues is that due to the faulty partition table i cannot update, i also think that sdb6 is less than 8mb so that maybe the firmware cannot fit?

Can anyone please show me the light? I pretty stuck.

Thanx very much in advance!
Kind regards Cor


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2015 9:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 775
your fdisk is set for using sectors instead of cylinders
Quote:
Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders, total 312581808 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000f26c1


The tutorial is for "cylinders"
Give the command "u" in fdisk to change from sectors to cylinders and other way around


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2015 5:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:47 pm
Posts: 5
Ah! Thank you! I am gonna try again! :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2015 7:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 8:46 pm
Posts: 19
@fvdw, do you know if it is possible to add more than 2 TB HDD using the original firmware if we use GPT paritioning?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2015 4:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 775
That depends on the boot loader (u-boot) version installed. If you have ssh access you could give the command dmesg and look in the output that get if as command line is given cap= GPT,lba64. If that is the case then yes you can use disks wit gpt partition table. If not you need to upgrade the bootloader first.
You can also get this information if you have serial port connected and interupt boot and give at u-boot command prompt the command printenv


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2015 8:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:47 pm
Posts: 5
Thanx fvdw, i managed to get the the switch to cylinders but i cannot get my head around the following... on my 640GB hdd the partition table is correct :

Disk /dev/sde: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sde1 1 250 2008093+ 5 Extended
/dev/sde2 251 77825 623121187+ 83 Linux
/dev/sde5 1 32 256977 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sde6 33 33 8001 83 Linux
/dev/sde7 34 34 8001 83 Linux
/dev/sde8 35 140 851413+ 83 Linux
/dev/sde9 141 249 875511 83 Linux
/dev/sde10 250 250 8001 83 Linux

but on my 160GB hdd i can't get it right.... is it possible the hdd is broken? cause when i do the math it should all add up... but sdf10 still hasn't got enough space...

Disk /dev/sdf: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000f26c1

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdf1 1 250 2008093+ 5 Extended
/dev/sdf2 251 18526 146800640 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdf5 1 32 256977 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdf6 33 34 8001 83 Linux
/dev/sdf7 34 35 8001 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdf8 35 141 851413+ fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdf9 141 250 875511 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdf10 250 250 3038+ 83 Linux

now i put my good disk the 640GB in slot 1 and i get the device to reboot. when i had the 160GB in slot 1 i only got it to boot once and then i had to do a reset. I guess until i get the 160GB fixed i won't be able to upgrade my firmware... any thoughts?

Thanx in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 775
Quote:
/dev/sdf9 141 250 875511 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdf10 250 250 3038+ 83 Linux


the end cylinder of sdf9 is wrong should be 249 and not 250
Further why do you use as partition type fd linux raid autodetect ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:47 pm
Posts: 5
euhm.. I used linux raid auto detect cause the tutorial said so :oops: should I use something else? I am sorry if I ask noob questions but I really want to know more of this.

Also I tried to make a new partition table and this is the result:

Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000f26c1

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 250 2008093+ 5 Extended
/dev/sdb2 251 19457 154280227+ fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb5 1 32 256977 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb6 33 33 7008+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdb7 34 34 7008+ fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb8 35 140 850421 fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb9 141 249 874518+ fd Linux raid autodetect
/dev/sdb10 250 250 7008+ 83 Linux

The start and end I followed your advice and the tutorial but the blocks are all wrong. I don't know what happend to my other disk but i think somehow the 2Big altered it on its own. Its running on the 640GB and that partition table look perfect like the tutorial except for the Linux raid autodetect...

Again thanx


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2015 7:47 pm
Posts: 5
okey now I am really dazzled... 5 minutes ago I tried updating on 1 disk "the 640GB" and it now mysteriously updated.... its now running version 2.2.10.1. I tried to do it yesterday like 4 times and nothing.... this thing is really losing me :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 10:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:13 pm
Posts: 775
What is the setting of the switch on the back? If it set to raid the bootloader will behave differently an may alter the disks. Also if this is 'nand' version it will have a firmware in flash that can install itself and partition and format disks if you follow the riht procedure. If this nas was sold as diskless model then it must be a nand version. If it was sold with disks then it will not have firmware in flash. But still the switchbon the back can let it boot in raid mode or big mode


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group